M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
should I run my V&H big shots with or without baffles? I just took them off and really like the way it sounds. :dontknow:

·
Registered
367 Posts
without the louder the better

·
Registered
2,461 Posts
What other mods do yo have? Also is it running badly? Most of the time you don't need it with just a pipe but maybe if your running it without the baffles then it might be lean.

·
Registered
3,719 Posts
Mine are well worn in baffled and full throttle they are plenty loud enough....riding it easy they are just mildly loud and throaty. I prefer not to ruin other peoples serenity, while I seek my own. ;)

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
only mods I have are the pipes and K&N drop in filters, I have a pcIII on it right now. I already have a thread started for someone who has the map for this setup. no luck so far.

·
Registered
64 Posts
I'm a mechanic, so I took my baffles to work and removed them.

I kept the 'muffler section' and reinstalled it with the fibre glass padding.

I ran the bike for 15 mins without the baffles & it's way too loud for me. So by chopping & changing them, I've got a nice deep note without all the harsh noise that is normally though of with a big twin.

I'm sure any good exhaust shop would be able to help you out with the cut up.

·
Registered
93 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 ·
what I ended up doing was cutting out all the fiberglass packing that is around the baffles. To me that is the perfect sound.

·
Registered
31 Posts
If you remove the baffles or the fiber glass, do you need to retune the PCIII?

·
Registered
264 Posts
should I run my V&H big shots with or without baffles? I just took them off and really like the way it sounds. :dontknow:
You should do what you like as long as you can till the "man" takes it away and they all end up sounding like vespas. I like noise too, lets em know I just passed thier cage.:bigthumbsup:

·