M109 Rider Forums banner

Which Helmet is BEST for the M109R and WHY....

• Modular flip-face type

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Skid-Lid skull cracker

• Helmet? Don't need no stinking helmet!

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
2,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've been riding for more than 24 years and helmets always seem to be a sore spot for folks.

Well I picked up a Fulmer Modus modular helmet the other day for around $70. This is cheap for this helmet. I saw some threads about the Boulevard helmets (half shell) and some full face helmets. It dawned on me that we need a good Q&A on helmets from those that use them everyday.

·
Registered
2,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
I'll start off first since I own (3) different versions of helmet.

IMO, the best helmet I have used with the M109R (with NO windshield) is the modular flip-face Fulmer Modus.

Fulmer Modus - With this helmet, wind noise is low and the face can be flipped up with one hand. This allows extra air and visibility when your riding under 35 mph and it's 95 degrees outside. It provide superior face protection from flying crap (i.e. bugs, rocks, etc) than a half-shell.

Boulevard Half-Shell - I like this helmet but find that I need ear plugs for long rides at 70 mph because the wind roar will have my ears ringing after about an hour. Note: With a windshield, this helmet would be my preference.

HJC CL-10 Full Face - This is the helmet that I used when I owned a sport bike. It benefits are similar to the flip-face but of course, only the shield flips up to provide better ventilation on hot days. Wind roar tends to be somewhat louder with this helmet than the Fulmer.

·
Registered
57 Posts