M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im 38 and even if Im closer to the end I started studying 4 years ago and Ill be ready for the world again this Xmas :bigthumbsup:. Anyway, the thing is this...... I have owned about everything when it comes to engines, but let us keep it to the bikes. They have been everything between Motocross, enduro, Japanese streetkillers, Streetfighters, Harley (one) and English classics (prefer Norton). The thing is now that I have decided to buy a new bike after Xmas and go on a "HellOfaJourny" in Europe next summer. As I really dont care about if its a Harley or a Japanese, or if its a Streetfighter or a glider I have to say that I think I have found the ultimate bike for me (in Europe M1800R). Now to the questions:

1. Ive read that the 109 doesnt run smooth on low rews? Is that a problem or is it just something the test-authors have to mention?

2. I read that you sit more layed back on other sporty cruisers. Is that something that makes the trip with a 109 uncomfortable if you run for a long time in a row or is it perhaps better? Important as my next summer will include aprox 5000 mile in 15-20 days.

3. Just if I need to think about something else? Im sure ill find answers on everything if I search the forum but belive me......... Ive read alot in here but still I might have missed something, like normal faults, what to think about, what has to be done if I buy a new one or what I should be aware of if I buy a used one.

Thanks Ola/Sweden

·
Registered
4,103 Posts
It does seem to shudder or vibrate some at low revs when you open the throttle without downshifting to make it go but a quick downshift to a lower gear before opening the throttle cures that. It is more of a personality the beast has rather than a problem. I have 3k miles now and no regrets or problems. Hope you enjoy your midlife crisis. :bigthumbsup:

·
Registered
974 Posts
Soderberg said: