1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
443 Posts
10-40 Amsoil :bigthumbsup:

·
Registered
4,579 Posts
I'm new to Amsoil. What makes it so good, as opposed to say, Mobil 1 Full Synthetic? It seems to have somewhat of a cult following or something. I'm just curious. I just put close to 4 qts of Mobil 1 Full Synthetic motorcycle oil in the 9 the other day.

·
Registered
247 Posts
I was thinking of going synthetic next oil change but someone told me to be careful because the oil had to have certain additives because of the clutch.is this true? :confused:

·
Registered
1,243 Posts
109guy said:
I was thinking of going synthetic next oil change but someone told me to be careful because the oil had to have certain additives because of the clutch.is this true? :confused:
There are EXTENSIVE RECENT THREADS ON THIS.....except, I haven't seen any on the difference between Amz and Mobil...Do a search from the tabs up top or just page down the topics...you will find half a dozenÂ

·
Registered
4,579 Posts
109guy said:
I think you mean a lack of additives, like Moly, which is not good for a wet clutch (from what I've read). Just find an oil that says for motorcycles with a wet clutch. Wal-Mart has started carrying more motorcycle products, like helmets, glasses, gloves, bar bags, and Full Synthetic Mobil 1 for motorcycles with wet clutches.

·
Registered
247 Posts
THANKS THATS THE MOST STRAIGHT TALK IVE HEARD REGARDING OIL WITH OUT GOING INTO A CHEMICAL BREAK DOWN :bigthumbsup:

·
Registered
94 Posts
Dealer, Cycle stores, Walmart - depends on your choice of how much you want to spend, what you like and availability. Walmart oil is not cheap lik regular dino oil but it is cheaper than cycleshops and dealer. I would not recommend using the brand for 'in-line" cycles - but to each his own.