M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
191 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a machinist with 35 years of experience. My motto is '' If you can dream it ,I can make it . Anything is possible -the impossible takes a little longer.'' Any way back to this post . After carefully measuring the swing arm gap , I decided to put a 300 metzler tire on a widen stock m109r wheel done by KOSMAN SPECIALITIES WHEEL (in WINDSOR CALIFORNIA) because my aluminum welding skills are not perfect.I am doing the swing arm notching my self .DLP used to sell ( NOT ANY MORE )a replicator 10 inch wheel with a special offset hub(meaning the hub brought the wheel closer to the drive shaft side so it could fit on their special wide swing arm for the nine.DLP price to have a 300 wide azz in the back-$1000 for the swing arm in black -$1200 in chome. When you bought the 10 inch replicator wheel,was $1300 with the polished with hub, you had to buy the 300 metzler from them at $300 for the tire. So total DLP price-$2600, shipping was free. I just got my 10 and a half inch wide wheel back from KOSMAN with a total of $900. Bought a stock wheel from a member here at $250 with forty for shipping .The KOSMAN widening cost $575 with $35 shipping (to and from).The only thing I did not like was that KOSMAN left the weld puddle on the inside of the wheel that I need to polish out before sending the wheel out to chome. So was the $900 dollars and forty hours (notching the swing arm and polishing out inside weld puddle) worth it ?Attaching pictures of wheel to get you opinion.

·
Registered
743 Posts
How much life insurance do you have? Sorry bro not trying to be negative, but you are altering two major components of the bike to save money. Please be careful.....the look is not worth your life.

Ride safe bro!!

·
Registered
3,950 Posts
Has there ever been any problem with their rims coming apart ???