M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Very Active Member
5,784 Posts
I've looked at that board before to see what they're saying. What's weird to me is that if you search 109 over there. There's got to be 20 threads talking about us and bashing this bike. "it's ugly" "it's all plastic" "won't handle good because of the ugly(?) fat tire". How many threads about the VTX are there on this board? One or two, maybe? I know there is one because i reported on riding with my buddy that has a custom VTX. Why all the hatin over there when we just stick to helping each other with tech problems etc over here?

·
Registered
752 Posts
That was a good and fair reply you posted on the board VTOAX.

I raced my bro in-law on his 05 VTX and smoked him hard. Admitidly I am a better driver and if he knew what he was doing it would have been closer.

Also a funny story is that I am 6'5" and 220lbs. Pretty lean. I just saw a guy on a VTX last Friday who seemed to weigh as much as his VTX. (the VTX guy saw a guy who weighed as much as his 109r) Anyway I raced him and smoked him too. However this is because I was racing 2 VTX's weight with only one VTX's engine.

I do wish that the 109 was faster though. The VTX has been out for years and Suzuki's brand new power cruiser should annihilate it instead of just beating it.

·
Registered
752 Posts
The more I am thinking about this the more I think the speed limiter kicked in on the 109. He was beating a tuned VTX until top of fourth around 120?

Then the VTX came into it's own and walked away?

Speed limiter.

·
Registered
3,714 Posts
I also owned both bikes and can tell you that it is no contest as Oak states. The 109 will bury the X in a heartbeat. But having said that I will say that any bike can beat the 109 if the rider has no skill at handling the bike....

·
Registered
1,215 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
J R said: