M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I posted this on another thread, but thought I would start a new topic to help keep ignorance at bay.

If you do the math (has anyone done this yet?), the theoretical top speed using a 7500 rpm rediline and the stock rear 240/40/18 tire, is 162.64 mph (this does not take into consideration ambient conditions)

To hit the magical 150 mph, under the same conditions, you would have to be able to hit 6,917 rpm's.

These are "true" numbers, and not based on what the speedometer reads.

Now, the question for those with the mod (mine will be here tomorrow), do you have enough power to make that additional 717 rpm's to hit 150 mph?

My guess is....WITH OUT A DOUBT.

I own a Warrior with H.C. pistons/air/exhaust, etc. etc., and it is not as powerful (quick & fast aside) as my stock 109. I love the Warrior, but for different reasons than I do the 109.

By profession, I am a Forensic Engineer and Accident Reconstructionist. Masters in Mechanical Engineering and a Licensed Professional Engineer. I do a lot of motorcycle accident reconstructions and do not advise anyone to play around with the top speed limiter. The Engineers at Suzuki know what they are doing for safety. However, how quick you get up to a "Safe-and-prudent" speed (in some places that can be 150+++ mph), that is another questions. One that the JSD-3M mod I think can answer.

DON'T DO ANYTHING STUPID...although I could always use another client     
Be SAFE.

My kids: '04 Honda ST1300, '03 Yamaha Warrior, '06 "Slowzuki" M109R

G

·
What did you use for the final drive gear ratio, I have been hunting around for the transmission specifications and cannot find them anywhere.

TAZ

·
Registered
4,103 Posts