M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 56 Posts

·
Registered
98 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all,

M109riders.com newbie here. I am here for some quick opinions from the HUGE community you all have going here.

I just had the insurance company declare my Suzuki GS500F as totalled due to the darn thing simply blowing over :/ The rice rocket weighed less than 400 pounds, and the wind from the Rockies had it's way with the bike.

I ended up salvaging the bike and taking the extra cash. I plan on using the insurance check as a nice down payment on a new bike. I am looking for something a bit more comfortable these days, but certainly with some more get up and go than my old 487cc engine.

I am hopelessly in LOVE with the M109R! The look... the sound... just wow. I have a test drive of the bike on 03/25 to get a feel for everything from torque, handling, smoothness of ride, etc...

I have been riding for about 3 years now, but have only EVER ridden sport bikes. 99.9% on my GS500F, and a few miles on a friends GSX-R 600. Not only am I concerned about the HUGE power difference, but I am also concerned about whether or not it is a good idea to get used to a new riding position with that kind of power at my beck and call.

Could I get the community to provide their thoughts on whether or not it is a good idea to go from 487cc to 1783cc even with several years of riding experience? Along with that, how wise it is to do this and learn a new riding position at the same time. I have taken MSF classes, and know the ins and outs of how bikes work. I am simply worried not only about my personal safety, but more importantly the safety of the 109. :dontknow:

Thanks in advance ladies and gentlemen!
Frost

·
Registered
6,343 Posts
I'd say you'll be fine...

You've been riding for 3 years, so you know the fundamentals. Its just a matter of learning the new bike...

The 109 is going to feel heavier, be harder to turn, and have less clearance...