M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok, I did a search on start, starting, starting bike...etc. didn't find anything. As many of you know i just had my rectifier and battery replaced. The bike now starts. But it still takes FOREVER to start. Most times it takes 3-4 hits of the start button and giving it gas to start. Any one else have this issue? and when i say hit the start button i dont hit it and left off real quick. i am talking about 3-4 sec hold and giving it gas and still nothing. Any clues?

·
Registered
485 Posts
.. and you shouldn't hit the gas should you since it's fuel injected? ???

·
Registered
115 Posts
ive had that problem with my C109 a few times, and once after letting it set for a few hours. mostly when it does it, it is when its cold. being a diesel technician by trade, we don't like dealing with intermitten problems, because they are hard to find. So I am reluctant to take the bike in yet, I know if I take it in the dealer will not be able to duplicate the problem therefore there is nothing they can do.

G

·
It can be a little tempermental if you don't give it time to cycle after turning the key on. The speedo does it's sweep and the SET cycles the ECV so wait a few seconds before hitting the start button. It should start right up without any throttle. If not there is something wrong and it should be fixed under warranty.

·
Radio Active Member
27,670 Posts
Ok, I did a search on start, starting, starting bike...etc. didn't find anything. As many of you know i just had my rectifier and battery replaced. The bike now starts. But it still takes FOREVER to start. Most times it takes 3-4 hits of the start button and giving it gas to start. Any one else have this issue? and when i say hit the start button i dont hit it and left off real quick. i am talking about 3-4 sec hold and giving it gas and still nothing. Any clues?