M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
2014 M109R Black
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Everyone, I’m a newbie here so appreciate your guidance.
I recently got a 14’ M109R with 2in1 exhaust. It was going fine until FI light started coming on and off then on always, did the paper clip and it’s a C46 error which I tried to resolve by removing the 7# wire from the harness but it’s not there. and the SET valve is still connected with what looks like a cut metal piece. how can I resolve this C46 error?

Thanks!
 

Attachments

·
Registered
2009 / VZR1800
Joined
·
3,800 Posts
Hi Everyone, I’m a newbie here so appreciate your guidance.
I recently got a 14’ M109R with 2in1 exhaust. It was going fine until FI light started coming on and off then on always, did the paper clip and it’s a C46 error which I tried to resolve by removing the 7# wire from the harness but it’s not there. and the SET valve is still connected with what looks like a cut metal piece. how can I resolve this C46 error?

Thanks!
Welcome to the forum!
The "SET" 7# wire is only on models 2006-2009. Newer models
do not have it. That metal piece on the exhaust servo motor is
mimicking working exhaust valve. I presume that plastic gears
inside are stripped as it commonly happens. You can open it
and fix it by fliping stripped wheel upside down and that way
engage part which gears are not stripped. Other way is to buy
Exhaust Servo Eliminator, you will find few on the web...
Cheers... 🍻
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
3,652 Posts
You don't want to start pulling wires out of the ECU harness on that model year.
You will end up with additional issues, doing that.

Just remove the exhaust servo and install an ESE or flash the ECU.

What exhaust is on your bike now?
 

·
Registered
2014 M109R Black
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Welcome to the forum!
The "SET" 7# wire is only on models 2006-2009. Newer models
do not have it. That metal piece on the exhaust servo motor is
mimicking working exhaust valve. I presume that plastic gears
inside are stripped as it commonly happens. You can open it
and fix it by fliping stripped wheel upside down and that way
engage part which gears are not stripped. Other way is to buy
Exhaust Servo Eliminator, you will find few on the web...
Cheers... 🍻
Thanks a lot! I think i’ll go ahead with flipping the stripped wheel.
 

·
Registered
2014 M109R Black
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
You don't want to start pulling wires out of the ECU harness on that model year.
You will end up with additional issues, doing that.

Just remove the exhaust servo and install an ESE or flash the ECU.

What exhaust is on your bike now?
yup, I was just looking for faster solution rather than waiting for the servo eliminator.

I have a hard krome sideburner.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
205 Posts
yup, I was just looking for faster solution rather than waiting for the servo eliminator.

I have a hard krome sideburner.
I would order the ese in the mean time as it will end up happening again. Also, it won't hurt the bike to run with the c46, other than the annoying FI light. At least with the ESE, you can remove the whole set valve assembly as well as that part of the bracket.
 

·
Registered
2014 M109R Black
Joined
·
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Thanks a lot! I think i’ll go ahead with flipping the stripped wheel.
So I went ahead with trying to flip the wheel till I can get the servo buddy, but I got more confused as it seems all the gears look fine 😆

Am I missing something?
 

Attachments

·
Registered
Joined
·
205 Posts
So I went ahead with trying to flip the wheel till I can get the servo buddy, but I got more confused as it seems all the gears look fine 😆

Am I missing something?
Normally it is the gears failing, however if the set valve position sensor voltage is higher or lower then the operation voltage, or there is a short, it also will throw the code. If you look, you will see there are also two cable adjusters leading to the set valve,. If your voltage is high or low, you need to adjust those to bring you back into spec. You would need to jump into the manual with a volt meter and start testing. At this point, it isn't worth messing with it in my opinion.
 
1 - 8 of 8 Posts
Top