M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am talking with Rainey about getting him to do a Revo for me. After talking with a friend who is a mechanic he said I need to ask Rainey about the SET valve. I am running the G-Man Bully and he was concerned that if the SET was removed in this job that the bike might have backfire issues and such. So I am trying to explain to Rainey that I need the SET to remain in the pipe system when he does the mod. Can anyone tell me if I am on the right track and if that valve will stay there in his normail pipe mod.

Thanks

·
Registered
1,626 Posts
Don't need it. You can bypass it through the wiring or get a cam installed in it if you want to keep it. Lots of choices!

·
Registered
462 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Guys thanks for the FI disable info but you have to understand I am not a mechanic and have not messed with this kind of stuff. Here is what I need to know: I have been told there is a valve in the exhaust system that tells the computer to control a certain amount of fuel to keep the motor from popping and backfiring when under a major throttle release. When I get this new exhaust sytem if it does not have that valve I will backfire like a bean eating fool. I was told that I could buy another fuel manager that you can map in that fuel control even with the SET removed. Now that being said I don't want to buy another fuel manager and can I leave the SET valve in on the new pipes? If I can and do leave that valve in on the new pipes what will it do to performance if anything.

I understand that aftermarket pipes don't have this valve so what does it do if it is not there?

Thanks

·
Registered
488 Posts