M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
326 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I AM NOT LOOKING TO START ANYTHING HERE, I have a serious question

Ok, now that's out of the way. Lets say that my bike was running IMO a bit rough recently (well before Lamonts post) and I was concerned that something might have caused some damage to I don't know, sayyyyyyy the pistons, Maybe a bad tank of gas. Now the local bike shop is having an open house this weekend and they might have a dyno there.

If they did, and I put my 109 on the dyno. Would there be anything to look for that MIGHT be an indicator of a possible internal engine issue. If there was some degradation inside the engine would a dyno expert expect to see reduced HP ?. I think one of the stock dyno runs here was around 110 ?.

I'm not an engine expert and don't even claim to be. Just someone looking for insight and since I might have a dyno chance very soon I would like to know if there would be anything interesting to look for.

At the end of the day it could be all in my mind, the bike may running the same as when I got it but if not this might be a golden opportunity to find out.

Thank you for your responses :bigthumbsup:

·
Registered
128 Posts
I haven't seen this mentioned yet but thought I would throw it out there. Could throttle bodies being a little out of sync cause a lean condition in one of the cylinders? Is that possible on this bike? I know that was the first thing you checked on the Busa/GSXR when it started running a little rough. I'm not an expert on v-twins so forgive me if I am way off in the weeds here. I haven't even torn apart my 109 yet, too busy riding it, I'm gonna wait until this winter.

·
Registered
296 Posts
As Perry mentioned , easy thing to do is to make sure you get a decent tank of gas if you can and see if that helps.