M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ran across this when looking at the news paper from back home on line (I'm from Baton Rouge but working in Minneapolis).

http://www.2theadvocate.com/news/3563537.html

I'm a new rider and a new M109 owner (Some people here don't think they should go together). Anyway, I don't know if I'm seeing and hearing more stories like this one since I started riding or if they were always there. You know how you see more of a type of car after you buy one?
I know accidents happen but are people really this blind to riders? The guy was on a bike that is probably one of the more "visible" bike out there. A POLICE bike!! I've read some of the "cell phone close calls" that were recently posted and those were scary enough. I Hope I don't become a statistic! :(

·
Registered
287 Posts
Very sad man. I hate stories like that, but they tend to remind you not to take life for granted and enjoy every minute of it.

·
Registered
1,676 Posts
Someone died 1 town over from me in Suffolk Va. Sunday night about 8:30 pm , another motorcycle accident...details are still unknown.

·
Registered
122 Posts
yes, i do agree when you are a new rider you notice a lot more accidents. About 3 weeks ago here in ok. 2 riders were killed. man and wife. a truck was hauling a tractor on a trailer. The trailer disconected from the truck and went into oncoming lane hiting riders. In this case even in a car it probably would have ben deadly. I hate to even post sad stories like this, but after seeing and hearing this story it makes me more aware of how i now load and secure things in my truck and trailer. When i ride on the highway i make sure i dont ride behind trucks or trailers hauling loads. Everyone please be careful!

·
Registered
355 Posts