M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Newbie here.

Recently test rode a blue LE. This 9 had a huge rear tire and some engines mods .... I found it hard to shift and turning was not so easy either. Suffice to say I passed on that 9.

My Motorcycle experience is mostly Sportbikes from 1995 to today, but now at age 44, I want to just cruise and chill. I'm 5'9 and 165 lbs.

Not sure if the 9 is for me. I have no interest in Harleys so the 9 seems like the next best thing to a Cruiser / Sportbike.

I heard the M109R is not so easy to control in the event an emergency, like on my now sold R1. But you can't have it all.

Thanks

·
Banned
2,524 Posts
the change is alot differant to an R1, I used to have one.

you cant ride an R1 like you ride a 9, to differant bikes.

you have to change it like you mean it, you will get used to it.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Scotty --

You adjusted to the 9 from an R1 stance without problems? Did the shear size of the 9 intimidate you? I'm looking forward to test riding a bone stock 9 with normal tires and no engine mods .... The forward controls threw me for a loop ... I guess I will adjust over time.

Comfort level on the 9 once up to speed must be wonderful over the crotched down R1 stance.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Newbie here.

Recently test rode a blue LE. This 9 had a huge rear tire and some engines mods .... I found it hard to shift and turning was not so easy either. Suffice to say I passed on that 9.

My Motorcycle experience is mostly Sportbikes from 1995 to today, but now at age 44, I want to just cruise and chill. I'm 5'9 and 165 lbs.

Not sure if the 9 is for me. I have no interest in Harleys so the 9 seems like the next best thing to a Cruiser / Sportbike.

I heard the M109R is not so easy to control in the event an emergency, like on my now sold R1. But you can't have it all.

Thanks