M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
HAS ANYONE NOTICED A LARGE AMOUNT OF VIBRATION WHEN ROLLING ON THE THROTTLE FROM A SMOOTH CRUISING SPEED.THE BIKE WILL BE CRUISING FINE AND SMOOTH AND I'LL ROLL ON THE THROTTLE STEADY THEN A VICIOUS VIBRATION GOES THROUGH THE WHOLE BIKE SEEMS TO WORK ITS WAY TO THE TAIL THEN SMOOTHS OUT WHEN RPMS ARE UP.I JUST SWAPPED OUT MY BUELLS IVE BEEN RIDING FOR THREE YEARS AND MAY JUST HAVE NEW BIKE WORRIES ANY HELP IS APPRECIATED

I NOTICE IT ANY TIME IM IN 3 GEAR AND UP JUST AROUND 3000RPM CRUISING AND STEADILY ROLL THE THROTTLE ALMOST ALL OPEN AND THE BIKE WILL ACCELERATE FINE BUT THERES A "ROUGH SPOT" OF VIBRATION THAT DISAPEARS ONCE RPMS SPIN UP.IVE NEVER HAD A SHAFT DRIVEN BIKE AND AM CURIOUS IF THIS IS NORMAL.THANKS

·
Registered
600 Posts
3rd, 4th and 5th gear from 3,000 to 4,000 RPM (especially around 3,400) is where I feel it. I'm used to it now. I look at it as a gentle reminder that you're riding a big twin with huge balls and a bad attitude sometimes :evil: :a18:

·
Registered
750 Posts
I will sometimes downshift just to get the RPM's up. Other than that I am with everyone else. Low RPM's
Swede...

·
Registered
29 Posts
What you're describing is normal and actually built into the bike according to Suzuki. That being said you can definitely smooth out hard roll ons from low RPM by adding a TRE like the ones sold by Jeff Wallace at jsdproducts.com if you havent already done so. Proper timing and combustion at the 2000-3500 rpm range help the bike feel heathier through this range. Good luck Curt

·
Registered
16 Posts
Normal on the 109. It utilizes an enormous amount of torque and tends to shutter/vibrate under load/acceleration. Just a characteristic of the 109.

·
Registered
42 Posts
I think I felt this more pre jsd-3m mod. The mod seems to make the power come on smoother in the low gears. my 2c.

·
Registered
817 Posts