M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1,703 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Little background...I am a golfer I've worked in the golf industry for 12 years now, mostly on the equipment side, this year however I will be more focused on the teaching side of it. This is my first year ever riding a motorcycle in fact I am currently without a bike (long story) I purchased a M90 had huge issues with the GM at the dealer ended up disputing the charges on my card, now I'm just waiting for the dust to settle. Also would like to see the New Black LE in person before I do anything.

Anyway the Motorcycle industry reminds me of the Golf industry 10 years ago on the aftermarket side of things. What I mean is that years ago most OEM in golf made their own shafts and grips. Things that most golfers change right away and they offered very little in the form of any upgrade options. Really the last 5-7 years they've started to "partner" up with aftermarket parts makers to make their products perform better. Their R&D spend a lot of time watching how certain shafts and grips will effect the flight of the ball. For example the shaft is considered the "engine" of the club so better/stronger players will not want the stock shaft they will want something aftermarket.

What I'm wondering is why say Suzuki would not partner up with Cobra (as an example) and do R&D on pipes, air kits/filters, etc, that would increase the performance of the bike without causing serious harm to the engine? And posting the differences on their website for all to see. Like golfers most riders experience differ as well the main use of the bike.