M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys. I have been drooling over this bike for over seven years. I had the money in hand to purchase the M109R LE several years and needed to re-align the money due to an emergency the night before the purchase. So... here I am several years later ready to pull the throttle again. I just test-drove a local bike with 39,000 miles on it. The bike was well cared for in immaculate condition who's owner has 3 other well-cared for bikes in his possession. While on the ride, I first noticed the clutch shutter issue that has been thoroughly expressed over the years. I also noticed some type of a vibration when I went over 3500 RPM's in any gear. My questions... Should I be overly concerned about any of these things? How excessive is 39,000 miles on this bike... or any bike for that matter? I am contemplating the Yamaha Raider as a runner up. I'd appreciate any feedback that you can offer on this as well. Thank you in advance for your comments. Doug

·
Registered
9,224 Posts
Sounds like the Clutch slips and the Motor mounts are due. If you want second best, get the Raider, if you want a dream fulfilled, keep searching or haggle the price and get them done.

·
Registered
194 Posts
Don't buy it if you think it has issues. I'm sure there are more 9's in your area for sale. Like Skidder said the raider is second best:bigthumbsup:

·
Registered
4,493 Posts
I agree, I don't know what you plan on spending but there are more than enough used and leftover bikes out there to not have to deal with any suspected issue's.

·
Registered
54 Posts
I don't know what your budget is, but there are LOTS of 9's on the market around here. There's a 2011 with 13k miles for 7k. I've seen a couple '12s for around 8-8.5k, still low miles. You can surely do better. Unless you like tinkering with your bike more than riding, be patient and wait for a good deal.

·
Registered
77 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·