M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Ok I am a political science graduate so I keep up with Real News (Not talking heads). But I have been reading and hearing an alarming amount of criticism being thrown our collective way about motorcycles being dangerous. Talk of blaming Roethlisberger (Steeler's QB) for HIS CRASH!!!! What The .... Also i have been hearing about how dangerous it is to ride a motorcycle and how stupid people are for riding them.

Ok, Roth, should have been wearing a helmet. Absolutely no arguement from me on that one. BUT the idiot in the Cager crossed HIS PATH!!! Why aren't people talking about the stupidity of the average driver? Why aren't people talking about motorcyclist rights? Why are people misplacing the blame to the motorcyclist?

I would strongly encourage people to write an op-ed piece to your local paper and get the word out. Most Motorcyclists are safe and obey the law. The real danger comes not from the nature of motorcycle riding but from Cagers who are too busy talking on their cell phone, putting on make-up, reading the mail, cooking hot pockets, reading the newspaper, and recieving faxes in their cars.

·
Registered
752 Posts
I live in Utah, small place 2.8 million people in a piece of country about the size of 6 eastern states.

They keep running stories on the news about how deadly motorcycles are. They keep running a teaser about how we have had 6 cycling deaths this year alone which ties the record for cycling deaths and what can we do about it.

So I finally watch the piece and here is the breakdown of the 6 cycling deaths from our maniac death machines.

Two separate bicycle incidents that they lumped in with the motorcycle accidents to make the numbers sound worse. This makes it extra hard with my in-laws because I have several roadbikes as well as my motorcycle.