M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I need advice from experianced riders, familiar with the bikes and possibly guys who got there start on bikes you generally shouldnt.
just got my motorcycle endorsment but havent pulled the trigger on a bike yet (And proably wont untill the weather breaks for the year) havent ridden in nearly 20 years and then it was only a single season on a old 1980s bike that outweighed a goldwing so I may as well be a total noob.
I know Im a crusier man and started doing my homework on beginner crusiers quickly finding my way to the boulevard line. was liking the loke of the c50 as a my first bike untill I dug deeper and realised that the bike would be underpowerd with me on it. I started looking at the C and M 90s then fell in love with the m109 boss.
About me: im a 40 year old trucker with 15 years of experiance driving heavy trucks with another 2 years as a colleage town taxi driver, so im no idiot when it comes to the road in general. im also a really big guy (6'2 built like a sumo wrestler, like seriously the power to weight ratio with me on the bike would be .14 )
My question for my biker elders is this: exactly how bad of an idea would it be to get the m109 as a first bike? Im thinking my size and weight might mitigate the power issues somewhat but it would still be a serious jump over the 90 bikes. I know it would be wiser to stick with the m90s but that M109 boss just sings to me in my sleep. Is this a it can be done if your carefull kind of thing or is this a your gonna die you silly goose dont do it kind of thing?

·
Registered
7,059 Posts