M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
976 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've been lurking on this site for a while and just bought a 9 less than a month ago. Funny thing, I had never been on a bike before.
I imagine it's kind of like getting a thoroughbred for your first horse.

This may be the only site I can post this without fear of ridicule:
"I started riding because I liked the look of the M109."

I know I'm not alone because every week, one or two folks join the site who state that this is their first bike.

In the motorcycle safety course they provided a Honda 250 for me to ride.
Nice, but it's not the same as riding a 9.

I did a search and did not see a thread for new riders so I thought I'd start one. There is a thread for Low cost Mods, and FAQs, but nothing specific to how to ride the 9 safely.

This could be a safe place for noobs like me to ask questions, share experiences and hear from the more experienced riders who have already been there, done that.

What do you guys think?

Especially if you are a newbie like me , don't leave me hangin', share your thoughts.

·
Registered
3,080 Posts
Learn the bike. Get out and ride in parking lots, then step up to parks, then back roads. Ride ride ride ride ride. You can not learn everyhting from reading stuff on here. You really need to just get out and ride. Take it easy on the throttle, till you get more comfortable.

You tech guys bored?

·
Registered
1,305 Posts
alot of people are gonna say its way to much bike for a first time bike owner, but dont get upset about it, they just dont want you to get hurt.

1500 cc (90) is alot of bike for a first bike too.. which is my 1st.

be cool & respect the bike, and google how to pick up a bike by your self, because you're gonna lay it down.

·
Registered
2,468 Posts