M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Hi All,

I feel stupid having to ask these questions but I have two different noises from the engine which I have no experience with.

I have a new 2021 M109R and it has traveled only 500kms. It is 100% standard.

First, I have had many bikes prior to this and this M109R is the first bike that I hear a definite “high pitched clicking” noise many and it corresponds with the engine speed. The clicking noise is very pronounced but not anything more than annoying. Here is the odd thing, the ticking noise seems to be whilst riding and it seems to be within my helmet. I know how dumb that sounds But, I have never experienced this prior with any of my other bikes. I just not not know why I am hearing it now.

The second is and I do not know if it is something I had not noticed before but when I have the motor running and stationary I can hear a distinct lower pitch knock from the engine. Again I say that this a new bike with only kms but I am sure that the knocking I now hear was not there earlier. Since I purchased this bike I have only ridden 25 to 50 kms so really bugger all (the reasons are due to the Covid issues). But I am asking if anyone has any idea or meaningful comments to contribute to my understanding of what I have described.

Many thanks to all that respond.

Rowan.

·
Radio Active Member
2007 Candy Sonoma Red
23,436 Posts
Is the "high pitched clicking" noise something you hear at all speeds, or just in the lower gears? And is it under power, steady cruise, or decelerating? The transmission has a whine, but it's only in the lower gears and mostly at steady cruise or decelerating. It's the straight cut gears in the transmission.