M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi, this is my first time posting. I test drove an M109 and LOVED the power. Two things are holding me back from pulling the trigger. First, it's a little more expensive than I was wanting to pay for my next bike (currently I own a Suzuki Volusia 800 and a Suzuki SV650, and I'd sell the Volusia when buying my next bike). Second, the handlebars had me stretched out and caused some pain between my shoulderblades pretty quickly (I'm 5' 11"). But again, I LOVED the power. So, the question is, how many of you have also owned the VTX1800 and/or the Yamaha Warrior, and how does the M109 compare to those in power, comfort, long-distance riding (I'll want to make some 500+ mile trips), and just overall fun. I know that I'm losing power, but do the other factors I mention above outweigh the thrill of the power. Just want some comparisons for those of you who might be more in the know. I figure I can buy a used VTX or Warrior for a lot cheaper than a used M109 since they've been around longer.

Thanks.

Greg

·
Registered
326 Posts
Why don't you just go test ride the VTX and the Warrior also, you are the one who is gonna have to live with it.

·
Registered
289 Posts
I just bought my M109R and now selling my VTX 1300. Besides power, the M109R is much easier to handle and feels lighter than my VXT1300 (641 dry) due to a lower center of gravity. The VTX 1300, from what I was told, handles better than the VTX1800. Also, my VTX1300c my arms are stretched out. Looks cool for city driving, but long runs my back gets a bit wore out, plus I didn't have a windshield and it really worked me over on the highways..

I like my X, but I'm much happier with my M!

Good luck on whatever you get. Either way, come back and lets see your new ride! :bigthumbsup:

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·