M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I'm getting a lot of spray from the 90 degree connector, and the catch can doesn't seem to absorb oil quickly, so it seems to spray out also, though the top of the sponge inside is the only part soaked with oil.

I may just get a turkey baster to pull some oil out to get it to the normal line.

Any suggestions? Should I replace this catch can with something else? In case it does puke again, hopefully prevent the 1 hour of cleaning up oil.

Last question, I'm still new to M109. What is the box that the main hose comes out of in pic 2862? I circled it.

Thanks

·
Registered
63 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Not sure I follow, Rock. The hose runs as high as probably possible. It's secured to the bottom of the seat area.

I got a feeling that this isn't a good setup. The oil is overpressuring that hose, apparently. What are better setups to use?

·
Registered
7,005 Posts
Look at K109's write up. I did the catch can just like his and it works great. I have 1500 miles on mine and I have only had one drop of oil in the bottom. It works awesome. Plus I ride more without cleaning the oil puke every time I ride. My 9 used to puke all the time at highway speeds. Let me know if you need any help. The only thing I did differently was I pulled and plugged all of the small holes on the back of the aircleaners. Just left the big hole open.

Sent from my DROIDX using Tapatalk

·
Registered
643 Posts
Is your setup vented anywhere???

·
Radio Active Member
2007 Candy Sonoma Red
22,877 Posts
That's not right at all bro. You need the can to be the highest part in the system, and the hose should run downhill from it back to the engine. That way any oil that gets into the hose can return to the engine. The way yours is, any oil in the hose is going to be forced into the catch can.