M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, remind me why I am taking off the GAS TANK & the radiator to add a horn... ? I can't find any details in the owners OR service manual of replacing or adding a horn at ALL! HELP!! I know its probably just where the old horn is located, but what exactly happens when I take the tank off? Does the gas leak everywhere? Should I put the tank upside down or plug it up?? And the radiator.. ? Its my first time dealing with tank-removal, if u can't tell!!

G

·
Wanted was the genius who came up with this setup and I have done it as well. If you choose to go this route and need any help, feel free to PM me with any questions you may have. One thing we both found when doing this mod was that although the compressor does fit in the opening on the right side of the bike, it is tight. The electrical connectors connect to the underside of the compressor and since there is alot of heat being thrown off the rear cylinder you need to wrap the compressor wiring to protect it. I bought a roll of header wrap and just wrapped the compressor bottom in this stuff and put a metal cable stay or you could use a radiator clamp as well. I have about 8 feet left if you need some. No charge, just send me your address. The horn is awesome. Very loud, compact and well built. The kit that I bought off of e-bay comes with everything you should need except a mounting bracket which you can make very easily. I used a chrome toilet part I had laying around. I just checked the website and they have one left. Here is the link if you need it:

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/Steb...ryZ34284QQihZ014QQitemZ330006648522QQtcZphoto

·
Registered
126 Posts
Alright this is going to be my first mod and I have never worked on a bike before. Just received the Stebel Nautilus horn today and I am looking forward to having a horn which is fitting for the M109.