M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So...anyone that messes with e-bay, know about these a#%holes that send you these bogus e-mails trying to get you to log in so they can capture and use your info. I thought I was a pro at detecting these until this morning!! I get a E-mail....the topic is"Question from e-bay member".....sender="e-bay member". I sell a lot on e-bay so thought nothing of it!! I open it and read the message that reads,"HI! Do you still have this item for sale?? I'm online right now and can pay right away!!". So...I start thinking what item did I list that didnt sell in recent weeks?? So....I clicked the link to bring me to the item. Let me tell you....this e-mail that I got was IDENTICAL to the page you would get from a "real" e-bay member.....except for one thing that I overlooked. When someone mails you about a item you are selling, there WILL be a URL to the item, but there is also a description of the item that was missing!! So...me being half asleep....I clicked the link and was linked to the e-bay log in page. I logged in....and as soon as I did my stomach dropped!! I suddenly realized that clicking that link should have brought me right to the item!! Instead it brought me to a very old listing of some Chevy heads that were for sale. They got me!!! :swear: I instantly closed my email and logged into e-bay, and Pay-Pal, and changed my passwords!! I also did the norm....forwarded the email to [email protected] . I feel sooo stupid!! :redfaced: Hope nothing bad comes of this!! It looked so legit guys!! So....just a heads up....if you get a member email from e-bay....always check the address it is comming from before you click ANYTHING!! It should come from this address: [email protected] . Dodt fall for this BULLSH$T!!-HELL :evil:Â

G

·
Discussion Starter · #2 ·