M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
317 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
A NEW AND IMPROVED VERSION. i deleted all the old crap to post the new.  I added a garage door opener to the 109. it works off the passing button only, it will not function with the high beam switch and the passing button still operates the high beam as normal. so far it works great. i have a liftmaster door opener with an orange learning code.  i used a 971LM remote, 30 amp relay from radio shack and a 3 amp diode from radio shack. i'm using the remotes battery for power.

First tap wires into the board of the remote to bypass the button and run them out the side of the case. (Sorry i don't have a pic of the wires in the board but it was real easy)

i mounted the remote to the plastic backing of the headlight bucket with velcro and i mounted the relay on the headlight bracket

now the fun part. remove the left switch box and take it apart. slice open the wire loom up to the wires for the clutch switch, find the red wire with yellow tracer cut it and add the diode into the wire as close as you can to where it connects to the yellow wire so its easy to put it all back together again. the grey band on the diode points away from the switch box. run a new wire through the loom and connect it to the side of the diode that is closer to the switch box( the other end of this wire will go to the relay). tape the loom closed and put the switch box back together and reinstall on the bike.

there is a wire diagram on the relay. the gound can be run to the headlight mount. the new wire you installed is your switched power. the two wire from the remote go to the remaining terminals. its a lot easier then i make it sound.Â

·
Registered
572 Posts
I have that exact same remote control... any way you might be able to give us a how to, for the rest of us to follow suit?

:)

·
Registered
401 Posts