M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4,579 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well, I figured i would give a testament to the cold weather ability of my riding gear for those looking to extend their riding season. For those that don't know from the other thread, I have a Tourmaster Transition jacket, Tourmaster Caliber overpants, and First Gear Winter Dakota. I rode my bike to work this morning (35 miles) in 32 degree weather. The car windshields had thick coating of frost and the grass was a bit frosty as well. I also wore a pair of thermal underwear under my pants and a lightweight fleece zip-up jacket under my riding jacket. The Tourmaster gear is supposed to keep you warm down to 35 degrees, so the addition of the fleece and thermal underpants should be expected for 32 degrees on an unfaired bike. I stayed pretty comfortable up to 70 mph, but anything over this and I began to feel cool air on my chest. I really wish the thermal liner on my jacket offered full frontal coverage, but instead, it stops where it zips into the jacket. This leaves about 4" down the middle without thermal coverage. On a bike with fairing and shield, this shouldn't be an issue, but on my 109, I think it may be a problem on real long rides or if the temp gets much colder. My legs stayed very comfortable with just a light pair of thermals under my pants, so I have no doubts the coolness on my chest was from the area not covered by the thermal liner. For my neck and face, I used a cheap fleece balaclava that I bought in the hunting section at Wal-Mart. Surprisingly, it kept my neck and chin very warm to be as thin as it is. I can truely attest to the warmth it gave, because I rode home in 36 degree weather the other day before I bought it, and the skin under my chin/jaw literally felt like I had a block of ice pressed against it. It hurt. The only part that was truely uncomfortable this morning was my eyebrows, which were not covered by the balaclava. This was from the wi