M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
643 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
What's up guys? I'm an electrical rookie, and need some of your expertise.

I'm trying to install flexible green LED (SMD 5050) strips on my bike. I found some on Ebay that were 12 strips with 12 LED's for $47. The goal was to wire them all in parallel and then connect an inline fuse to the battery, the fuse to a switch, the positive of the LED to the switch, and ground the negative to the battery.

I've tested all of them with a 9-volt battery, however, it seems the 4-pronged connector that they came with only will work on one end of the strip. :dontknow: When I check the connector to the other end, it does not light up. Both ends have receptacles for the prongs. I thought I'd be able plug a connector into the end of each side to connect to strips and then soder the wires together to connect to the next strip. It seems as though the wire is 24 gauge (basically speaker wire).

All of them work, I even installed on under the back fender, plugged a connector to each side, sodered a connection, plugged into a strip on the other side of fender, and was able at one point to get both strips to work. When I plugged into the end of strip #2, ran the wire, then sodered the connector for the 3rd strip, I decided to test them again.

I tested the 9-volt battery at the wires coming out of strip #1, (thinking they would all light) I could only get strip #1 to light up. :dontknow: ???

I'm attaching some pictures so you can see what the connections look like.

Will this wiring schematic not work? Am I doing something wrong? Any suggestions or possible new ideas to wire these up would be great. I appreciate all of your guys insight.

Damn...I wished I paid better attention in electronic class in high school.

·
Registered
4,485 Posts