M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
After second oil change, dealer did it.4000 miles,new rear and front meztler,s .bike runs fine for the next 2500 miles flawlessly.No oil drip,s nothing.Then for no reason,oil starts dripping out the left side,under the chrome air filter.Why,not ridden differntly,what in the hell would cause it.I,m not mechanically inclined,but i just can,t justify bringing it in to the dealer for 2 to 3 hours of labor just to diagnose it,and try to find problem,which they said have never seen.He is a good mechanic,but what the f,.//^#@%$ is going on.I know you said oil puke,but for no reason,one day the bike decides to do this,come on.Bike still has full power,everythings fine except for the small drip,What caused this out of the blue....Thanks,steve

·
Registered
3,120 Posts
Over filling is usually the cause

Is is the usual cause but like you I'm no mechanic. I take mine to the dealer for ALL servicing. On the first service mine did it too but I've had no reoccurances to date with over 18,500 miles on the bike. Maybe some of the other guys on the site can diagnose the issue or give you some ideas as to the cause of the issue.

·
Registered
6,984 Posts
Your question was already answered on your first thread that you posted. These bikes can puke oil....even "mysteriously". You should install a catch can like was suggested on your other thread.

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
I had the same thing happen to me. The dealer reaplaced my clutch(waranty) an I rode for months with no puking.
When the first hot day of the season arived I got the drip. It appears when you add to the max level you are close to overfull and when the oil is heated to extra high temps the volume expands to that point of puking. I just drained a little bit and it went away.