M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
have you ever tried to remove a small dent from the gas tank using dry ice? or is there another method you prefer or is worth a shot?

·
Registered
300 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
the way i understand it... you put the bike in the sun and rub dry ice on the dent when its quite warm, and repeat until dent is gone.

·
Registered
2,313 Posts
That would be way cool. Let us know how that works out.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I have been doing paintless dent removal for 13 years, and I will tell you that dry ice does not work. If it did, I would not have a job. I have repaired a couple of gas tanks over the years, and they are very difficult. The best advice I would give you is to look for a PDR guy in your area and see if they can fix it or if they know someone that can.

·
Radio Active Member
27,670 Posts
I remember Zoom posting a thread showing a guy use a heat gun to heat it up and I think just took a can of R134 and sprayed the same area and the dent came out. Worth a shot. :dontknow:

·
Radio Active Member
2007 Candy Sonoma Red
22,878 Posts
That was actually using canned air, but close. :D

The dent has to be shallow and not a crease. If it's creased this won't do it.

Remove most of the fuel from the tank. Heat the dent with a hair dryer for a few minutes. Then take a can of canned air, like you use to clean off computers, invert the can so liquid comes out, and spray the dented area.

The video explains it better than I can.

http://www.filecabi.net/video/dent-can-air.html

·
Registered
1,270 Posts
http://www.dryiceinfo.com/other.htm