M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I just picked up my bike from Adventure Motorsports in Monroe Washington.
They put in the new wave washer,the one that is concaved.
The new style washer is thinner in width and thicker in...uh..thickness than the original.
Ryan the shop manager showed me the old wave washer they took out and I put it on a flat surface to look at closely. The old washer was TOTALLY FLAT! It lost its spring completely!
Ryan said "Suzuki is seeing this as a problem".

I wonder if there was a bad heat treat lot in the manufacturing process with some of these washers. This would be a reason why the shudder problem is so random around the world. All the different oils and fancy "fixes" might be slowing the real problem from ariving.
I work in manufacturing comercial aircraft(Boeing) and I have seen similar scenarios through the years. JMO

I feel I see an answer!

·
Registered
744 Posts
Good deal! Congrats. I hope Suzuki recalls the defective washers. But then again, that would cost them money. So I guess that means that I have a snowball's chance in hell of getting my 08 repaired. :verymad: :mad: :'(

·
Registered
913 Posts
Good deal! Congrats. I hope Suzuki recalls the defective washers. But then again, that would cost them money. So I guess that means that I have a snowball's chance in hell of getting my 08 repaired. :verymad: :mad: :'(
Just purchase the washer yourself and replace when you replace your clutch plates. Its not that hard!

·
Registered
838 Posts
for us do it yourselfers or the ones that will take this problem to the dealer. Is there a part # for this umm thicker washer? :dontknow:

·
Registered
2,071 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Im sure if you call Adventure Motorsports 360-805-5550 and ask for Ryan the service manager he could tell you the number. I`m not at liberty to search right now...at work:redfaced::D

·
Registered
263 Posts