M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Folks,

I know there have been several discussions on clutch noise, failure and the like, but after a fairly lengthy search I didn't find this question...

I have ~1500 miles on the bike and the clutch effort has always been high. I've ridden predominantly sport bikes in the past, but I've had some experience with Harleys and the big twins always had significantly higher clutch effort. SO, when the 9 exhibited the same tendencies, I just thought it was a "big V-Twin thing".

BUT, today I went to lunch and on my way back, the clutch effort dropped WAY down. I would say by 40% or so. It didn't seem to be related to a certain event, i.e., I didn't flog it hard, fan the clutch, etc. I drove it no different than normal.

So, being an engineer, the first thing I tried to do was analyze and come up with scenarios:

1. Was the cable always in a bind somehow and magically today broke free?

2. Did a clutch spring(s) break allowing less effort at the lever?

3. Am I just imagining things? (doubt it).

I have recently adjusted the free play and perhaps the stretch has caused number 1 above to happen. I have not seen any slipping since which I feel would be an indication of lack of spring pressure (broken spring), BUT it was raining on my way back so I could really get on it. I have to say I appreciate the reduced effort, but not if it is a sign of damage.

I'm just basically appealing to my fellow 9er's to see if any of you have experienced the same thing. I've gotten plenty of good info from this site and y'all seem extremely helpful, so any input would be appreciated.

- Jeff

·
Registered
532 Posts