M109 Rider Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Just wondering, all snowed in, if I can remove the exhaust with ease or is it welded and with oxygen sensors that will come off with the mufflers (don't really kvow where oxy sensors are usually :dontknow:)
I just want to hear what the beast sounds like and see what's behind the chrome.
Can this be done in, let's say....one hour?

BTW, thanks for this excellent forum. :bigthumbsup:

·
Registered
135 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
What if I drill out all the baffle plates (3, aren't they?) and would then stick a pipe in the muffler, as far as I could? Would I then bypass the muffler, and get a straight pipe sound??? :dontknow:
Anybody?

·
Registered
1,552 Posts
i'm no expert here, but i'd think what you are proposting would be wrought with problems. 1) you wouldn't get a smooth transition up where it'd need to be welded, 2) you couldn't weld it, 3) it'd also probably be a smaller pipe than you'd want. 4) your pipes would weigh even more than they do already.

from what i've read, getting performance out of pipes is a tricky thing. diameter, length, topology (i.e. 2-1, 2-1-2), material, temperature, and curve shapes all change things in what together is a very complicated way. you can't just throw something on there willy-nilly and expect them to perform. now, if sound is all you are after, that's probably a different story. send your pipes to pprigen up there for both performance and good sound.

p.s. the only models with O2 sensors are U.K. (E-02), Europe (E-19), and Austrailia (E-24).

·
Registered
4,103 Posts
Charles Darwin said:
Just wondering, all snowed in, if I can remove the exhaust with ease or is it welded and with oxygen sensors that will come off with the mufflers (don't really kvow where oxy sensors are usually :dontknow:)
I just want to hear what the beast sounds like and see what's behind the chrome.
Can this be done in, let's say....one hour?