M109 Rider Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
2,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I really didn't think about it too much until today.

The exhaust was really singing down the road. I thought to myself, 'Wow, it gotten a lot louder since new'. Guess the packing is burning down some.

G

·
Mine is somewhat louder too. I have also notice the engine is emitting louder noises now that I have a few miles on the 109. The louder exhaust is one reason that I have cancelled my order for pipes. At my age I don't need any tickets for loud pipes.

oldold

G

·
I drilled 9 1/2" holes around the outlet in each pipe. The bike is much louder. Not sure I like the sound so far, may have to go for pipes or plug the holes.

·
Registered
2,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
ppridgen1 said:
yep , mine got much louder thanks to the 1and5/16 hole saw....It'll do till Lamont tests the pipes for us all
I'm not a big proponent of cutting on the bike for any reason. I would go as far as buying a extra set of pipes to play with before I cut on the originals.
Same with the LED turn signals and plate mods. If I can unbolt and put away, I'm cool. If I need to cut, gimmie a spare so I can return it to OEM when I sell it.

Just personal preference.

·
Registered
817 Posts
This has happened to the exhausts on my other two Boulevards as well.

You didn't mention your mileage, but starting around 3,000 miles give or take, you will notice a definite "mellowing" of the exhaust note. The sound will continue to change until about 10,000 or so. The Suzuki exhausts really break in nice, but it takes a while.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Congo said:
I drilled 9 1/2" holes around the outlet in each pipe. The bike is much louder. Not sure I like the sound so far, may have to go for pipes or plug the holes.
Been there done that on a different bike. A tap, locktite and large set screws make a nice looking plug job.

·
Registered
2,624 Posts
Discussion Starter · #9 ·
Wanted said: