Tach relocation Mod (Headlight Cowling)
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: Tach relocation Mod (Headlight Cowling)

Very Active Member

Default Tach relocation Mod (Headlight Cowling)

OK guys,¬* Eveyone has added so much to this site, I wanted to give something in return.¬* I am no mechanic, but loved the way the tach looked inside the headlight cowling, so I went for it.¬* This is my first attempt at a "How Too" post, so I hope it gets the point across...¬* It took me 3 Hours, but like I said I am no mechanic.

Tools Needed: Metric Allen key ratchet set.
    ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* Philips screwdriver
    ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* Metric ratchet set.
    ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* #21 Drill Bit
    ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* 5 mm Tapper or a 10/32 tapper and 2 10/32 Allen bolts/Washers to replace the existing bolts form the tach bracket.
    ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* ¬* Dremel or wheel grinder

1. Remove the head light cowling from the bike...¬* There are 2 Allen screws, and to push pin plastic connectors.¬* Remove all 4.¬* Then gently wiggle the cowling straight forward.¬* Once it comes away from the bike, unplug the Headlight connector...

2. Remove handle bars, remember to mark with tape or a marker their position in the risers.¬* 4 Allen bolts remove these.
    3. Remove the two Allen bolts underneath the tach. and lift off the risers.

4. disconnect the tach wire harness, there are 2.¬* Undue the re-usable tie wrap.¬* NOTE >>> (Do not cut the tie wrap you can use it later) pull the disconnected wire through the black plastic cover.¬*

5. On th bottom of the tach, there are three screws and a steel plate.¬* Remove the steel plate by removing the rubber grommets, and then unscrew the 3 philips, to remove the chrome housing.¬* (the housing is not used again).¬* Lay the tach aside for later...