Electrical Question --Calculating Amp and battery draw
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Electrical Question --Calculating Amp and battery draw

  1. #1
    Member gino33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    28

    Default Electrical Question --Calculating Amp and battery draw

    I'm adding alot off accessories to my 2006 109.... radio, warming gear, usb charger, lights etc. Is there an easy way to ensure I am not putting to much strain on my battery/alternator? I assume I can add all the amp/watts draw from my accessories and make sure its less than my alternator but I assume there might be a simpler way... Any suggestions? Thank you!
    Last edited by gino33; 3 Weeks Ago at 05:00 PM.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Super Moderator HyperPete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Adams County, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5,658

    Lightbulb

    Here is an old thread that should help you:

    https://www.m109riders.com/forums/sh...d.php?t=122037

    - My memory's not as sharp as it used to be. Also, my memory's not as sharp as it used to be.
    - God grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked, the good fortune to run into the ones I do, and the vision to tell the difference.

  4. #3
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Detroit
    Posts
    366

    Default

    One thing you can do is start the bike, turn everything on and then measure voltage at the battery. If you don't get around 13-14 volts, you are drawing too much. Keep in mind you don't usually use everything at once. I shut everything off a few minutes before I get home just to be safe.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Member gino33's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Location
    Oakland, CA
    Posts
    28

    Default

    Thank you both!

    Have either of you used a Power Distribution Unit (PDU)? Wondering if it worth the $100+ investment compared to a $10 fuse block

  7. #5
    Super Moderator HyperPete's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Adams County, Pennsylvania
    Posts
    5,658

    Default

    I added a switched fuse block on my FJR1300.

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	FJR1300 Fuse Block.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	63.7 KB 
ID:	389846

    - My memory's not as sharp as it used to be. Also, my memory's not as sharp as it used to be.
    - God grant me the senility to forget the people I never liked, the good fortune to run into the ones I do, and the vision to tell the difference.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->