Risers and Running New Cables
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Risers and Running New Cables

Default Risers and Running New Cables

So after a lot of reading, everyone (mostly) suggests getting new longer cables for risers. I'm planning on getting a new set of cables, but is this everything I need to replace to put on new risers?

1 Pull cable
    1 Push cable
    1 Clutch cable
    1 Brake 3 line kit with bolts like factory setup.

Is there anything else I'll need?

Also, anyone have a good video on rerunning all the cables? I've never done it before, and while it seems easy, I like to be prepared with knowledge.

2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements

Very Active Member

Sounds about right, and brake fluid of course. Which risers, +2? If so most use +3 cables, although I feel like my clutch cable should have been +2, it’s a little long. Running the new ones are self explanatory once you get into it. One thing you want to do is run the clutch cable a little differently down by the motor. The factory has it going in a tight space Search it, you will find a bunch of posts on it. If I have time I’ll take a pic tomorrow. Also, tie the new clutch cable into the old one and use it as a fish to pull it through, will save you some headaches

As far as the clutch cable goes, an OEM C109 cable is about 2 inches loner than a stock M109 one.

5. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by DakS83 View Post
    As far as the clutch cable goes, an OEM C109 cable is about 2 inches loner than a stock M109 one.
    Are the inner to outer cable lengths the same if you get my meaning.

Very Active Member

I used +3" cables when I installed the 2" risers and , even with that , the install of the trottle cables was difficult . I can imagine doubling the difficulty if the cables had been +2" instead of +3" , so my suggestion is to get the +3" cables .