Gen5 Knight Rider LED
Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: Gen5 Knight Rider LED

  1. #1
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Default Gen5 Knight Rider LED

    I will appreciate your opinion on this LED strip for the 109

    Thanks
    [SIGPIC]

  2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Very Active Member Bering_C_Sparky's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2017
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    3,175

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by juanramon View Post
    I will appreciate your opinion on this LED strip for the 109

    Thanks
    Works good, looks good, easy to install, no problems at all unless you also have a cheap integrated tail light from china.....then there could be some compatibility issues.

    Had one on my 2007 and it worked just fine.

    BCS

  4. #3
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bering_C_Sparky View Post
    Works good, looks good, easy to install, no problems at all unless you also have a cheap integrated tail light from china.....then there could be some compatibility issues.

    Had one on my 2007 and it worked just fine.

    BCS
    Thanks!, My tail light is Factory ( I believe ) I was just concern of the constant light movement could be annoying for a rider behind me !?1?
    [SIGPIC]

  5. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Very Active Member Wildman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NW Burbs IL
    Posts
    1,701

    Default

    Where are you ordering it from I've been looking at adding one again and can't find them.

  7. #5
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Wildman7 View Post
    Where are you ordering it from I've been looking at adding one again and can't find them.
    Meancycles…….https://www.meancycles.com/store/parts/view.cfm?PartID=219958

    I ordered other items from there before
    [SIGPIC]

  8. #6
    Very Active Member Wildman7's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    NW Burbs IL
    Posts
    1,701

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by juanramon View Post
    Meancycles…….https://www.meancycles.com/store/parts/view.cfm?PartID=219958

    I ordered other items from there before
    Yeah I know all about them I'll shoot JC a message and see if he has them in stock and order them.

    Thanks

  9. #7
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by Wildman7 View Post
    Yeah I know all about them I'll shoot JC a message and see if he has them in stock and order them.

    Thanks
    Sure thing!
    [SIGPIC]

  10. #8
    Very Active Member JUDAH-9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    ARLINGTON, TX
    Posts
    4,578

    Default

    I’ve never been a fan of the KnightRider product...UNTIL NOW. I just went to the MEANCYCLES site to read up in the Gen 5 edition, and that thing seems awesome. It has really evolved since the Gen 1 edition. I’m definitely going to get one to add to my fairly-new acquired 2014 model. The price is very reasonable as well.

    Thanks for starting up this thread. Otherwise, I probably wouldn’t have even considered adding one to my bike.

    Bobby

  11. #9
    Active Member Loki's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Windsor
    Posts
    95

    Default

    I have it on my 2014. It gets people’s attention and I’ve had nothing but complements on it from other riders.

    Velocity pro short, flashed ecu, k&n filters, kuryakyn grips, de-beavered, led head light and turn signals, led knight rider strip.

  12. #10
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Default Got them installed!

    Pretty simple straight forward plug and play. I am not too crazy about the many colors but I do like the features of different patterns, I think is cool looking, works great! Happy with the mod!
    I will post picture or a small movie but always get confused as hoe to upload them here!
    [SIGPIC]

  13. #11
    Very Active Member NoSetFine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    1,013

    Default

    Late reply but for what it's worth, I did an all-day ride behind one and thought it looked great. Catches your eye for sure, and didn't seem overdone to me - probably eye of the beholder type thing anyway. The only caveat is for those looking to use it as a turn signal on its own and you cannot - as far as I am aware, even in Gen 5, the brake overrides the turn signals instead of the other way around. So if your signal is on, it will blink on the Knight Rider as long as you don't touch the brake, which would then wipe it out in favour of all red. The only work-around is to not connect the brake signal line and lose that feature if signals is your goal.

    So as an *auxiliary* light/attention-getter - 100%.

    Please correct if wrong, this is a common question.


  14. #12
    Very Active Member JUDAH-9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    ARLINGTON, TX
    Posts
    4,578

    Default

    NSF, thank you for your response. I’ve seen posts in the past stating the same thing you’ve stated about the brakes overriding the turn signals. However, I do believe there were a few members here who figured out a way to make the turn signal function on one side while the brake light was displays the other side of the Knight Rider component. In the link I’ve provided below, it displays a pic of the Knight Rider component with the left turn signal and right side brake light on simultaneously.

    https://www.meancycles.com/store/par...?PartID=219958

  15. #13
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NoSetFine View Post
    Late reply but for what it's worth, I did an all-day ride behind one and thought it looked great. Catches your eye for sure, and didn't seem overdone to me - probably eye of the beholder type thing anyway. The only caveat is for those looking to use it as a turn signal on its own and you cannot - as far as I am aware, even in Gen 5, the brake overrides the turn signals instead of the other way around. So if your signal is on, it will blink on the Knight Rider as long as you don't touch the brake, which would then wipe it out in favour of all red. The only work-around is to not connect the brake signal line and lose that feature if signals is your goal.

    So as an *auxiliary* light/attention-getter - 100%.

    Please correct if wrong, this is a common question.
    100% agree with you , it should not cancel the turning signal as you brake!
    [SIGPIC]

  16. #14
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JUDAH-9 View Post
    NSF, thank you for your response. I’ve seen posts in the past stating the same thing you’ve stated about the brakes overriding the turn signals. However, I do believe there were a few members here who figured out a way to make the turn signal function on one side while the brake light was displays the other side of the Knight Rider component. In the link I’ve provided below, it displays a pic of the Knight Rider component with the left turn signal and right side brake light on simultaneously.

    https://www.meancycles.com/store/par...?PartID=219958
    ...But that might be only a picture that capture the yellow light sequence coming thru/?!!

    I will ck on this....
    [SIGPIC]

  17. #15
    Very Active Member JUDAH-9's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    ARLINGTON, TX
    Posts
    4,578

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by juanramon View Post
    ...But that might be only a picture that capture the yellow light sequence coming thru/?!!

    I will ck on this....
    I have to call JC today to place an order for something he and I discussed last week, so I will be asking him a ton of questions about the Gen. 5 Revo Knight Rider component. If it turns out that the turn signals will not display/function properly while the brakes are engaged, I’m going to pass on it.
    Last edited by JUDAH-9; 5 Days Ago at 09:33 AM.

  18. #16
    Very Active Member juanramon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Longwood,Florida
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JUDAH-9 View Post
    I have to call JC today to place an order for something he and I discussed last week, so I will be asking him a ton of questions about the Gen. 5 Revo Knight Rider component. If it turns out that the turn signals will not display/function properly while the brakes are engaged, I’m going to pass on it.
    I did send JC an email this morning with that concern. I understand your grounds and agreed that if i knew this info before purchased it would have think about it more in depth.
    [SIGPIC]

  19. #17
    Very Active Member Chrispy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2018
    Location
    Delhi, Ontario
    Posts
    256

    Default

    I have the knight rider and the brake light cancelled out the turn signal function

    What I did was in the knight rider harness where it pulls the brake light signal, I just cut the wire so the knight rider never sees the brake light signal, problem solved

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->