Speedometer getting stuck
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Speedometer getting stuck

  1. #1
    Very Active Member DivkoviC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    108

    Default Speedometer getting stuck

    Anybody experience this issue before?

    The faceplate has been changed on the speedometer so I'm wondering if that's causing an issue to make it get stuck.

    Even at start up it doesn't seem to go through the full range on the speedo, goes up to Abt 200 km and then comes back down to a bit above 0

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

  2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Radio Active Member rynosback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Traveling America
    Posts
    27,390

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DivkoviC View Post
    Anybody experience this issue before?

    The faceplate has been changed on the speedometer so I'm wondering if that's causing an issue to make it get stuck.

    Even at start up it doesn't seem to go through the full range on the speedo, goes up to Abt 200 km and then comes back down to a bit above 0

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
    One thing to check would be the speed sensor. They sometimes are covered in metal fragments usually causing fluctuations if I remember correctly. It is located by the secondary. Have you had your tank off recently? As you could also have a lose pin in the plug. Had it been working with that faceplate?
    Coming to a city near you..
    Bang for the Buck Mods link
    CLICK HERE

  4. #3
    Very Active Member DivkoviC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rynosback View Post
    One thing to check would be the speed sensor. They sometimes are covered in metal fragments usually causing fluctuations if I remember correctly. It is located by the secondary. Have you had your tank off recently? As you could also have a lose pin in the plug. Had it been working with that faceplate?
    I'm not sure if it worked before. Bought the bike sight unseen type of thing and it gets stuck but if smacked will loosen up a bit. Might have to take it off to check on the pins

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

  5. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Radio Active Member rynosback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Traveling America
    Posts
    27,390

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DivkoviC View Post
    I'm not sure if it worked before. Bought the bike sight unseen type of thing and it gets stuck but if smacked will loosen up a bit. Might have to take it off to check on the pins

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
    Maybe the needle is not seated correctly. Maybe the faceplate is not installed correctly. Since it is new to you and you have no background on it. I would disassemble everything and look at it.
    Coming to a city near you..
    Bang for the Buck Mods link
    CLICK HERE

  7. #5
    Very Active Member M109Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Forney, TX
    Posts
    6,792

    Default

    Sounds like either the needle is getting hung up on the faceplate or the hole in the faceplate where the needle stem goes through may be binding it up.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

  8. #6
    Very Active Member DivkoviC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Took it apart. Re calibrated and it's working perfectly now. Only about 10 minutes worth of work as I didn't have to disconnect the speedo

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

  9. #7
    Very Active Member NoSetFine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    952

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DivkoviC View Post
    Took it apart. Re calibrated and it's working perfectly now. Only about 10 minutes worth of work as I didn't have to disconnect the speedo
    Curious about what worked for you, for reference?
    Did you disassemble, pull the needle off and repeatedly put it back on until the sweep looked good?


  10. #8
    Very Active Member DivkoviC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NoSetFine View Post
    Curious about what worked for you, for reference?
    Did you disassemble, pull the needle off and repeatedly put it back on until the sweep looked good?
    Yep, after inspecting that the needle wasn't getting hung up, I pull the needle off, turn the ignition on, wait a few seconds for the sweep to finish and then installed the needle at 0. Checked the sweep, and then re adjusted a half dozen times or so to get it to line up as close as possible to 0

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

  11. #9
    Active Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2018
    Posts
    84

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DivkoviC View Post
    Yep, after inspecting that the needle wasn't getting hung up, I pull the needle off, turn the ignition on, wait a few seconds for the sweep to finish and then installed the needle at 0. Checked the sweep, and then re adjusted a half dozen times or so to get it to line up as close as possible to 0

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk
    You missed a chance to retard the needle by 5 or so mph to get a more accurate speed reading :)

    Most people say that the speedo reads 5 to 8 mph higher than actual speed.

  12. #10
    Very Active Member DivkoviC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Ontario Canada
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Baldi View Post
    You missed a chance to retard the needle by 5 or so mph to get a more accurate speed reading :)

    Most people say that the speedo reads 5 to 8 mph higher than actual speed.
    Having it read higher can only be a good thing as it means the speeding fine will be smaller

    Sent from my ONEPLUS A5000 using Tapatalk

  13. #11
    Very Active Member M109Dreamer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Forney, TX
    Posts
    6,792

    Default

    When I did the same thing to mine, I attached the needle the same way. Power on after the sweep. Running it with my cell gps as a guide, I was withing 1 mph at 65 mph. Anything higher than that is really irrelevant.

    Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->