M109 Rider Forums banner

2010 C109RT EXCVA FI problem

2K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Assassin 
#1 ·
Hello
Newbie here, please excuse my inexperience.
A couple of weeks ago, the FI light came on and off. I checked and its the EXCVA.
Cleaned the valve on the outside, used wd40 on the spring and cables.
Light is still on, the servo doesnt move when I turn the motor on/off.

Can someone (please) explain why this is needed? After-market pipes dont seem to use this valve.
Is there a way to leave it open and just disable the mechanism?

Thank you
Ride safe :)

#2 ·
Your exhaust valve is gone with your OEM pipes. What you have there is servo motor,
which more then likely failed (plastic gear teeth). I am not sure if your ECU has a #7 wire
which earlier models M109R-s have, and needs to be cut/removed to stop the signal from
now failed servo motor. Other option is to buy simple plug-in "Exhaust Servo Eliminator"
made by (couple manufacturers). In both cases you can throw away whole servo motor
mechanism after.

http://www.m109riders.com/forums/showthread.php?t=166780&p=1772459&viewfull=1#post1772459

#3 ·
Thank you for the prompt reply :)
Reading my post I realized I forgot to mention that I am using the original pipes. sorry.
Any reason why I need this valve?
This is a C109RT, is that different than the M109 ?
Do I visit the mechanic or just get the "servo buddy" installed and forget about it?

Had few bikes since 1995, first time I see this exhaust valve.

Very much appreciated

#4 ·
Thank you for the prompt reply :)
Reading my post I realized I forgot to mention that I am using the original pipes. sorry.
Any reason why I need this valve?
This is a C109RT, is that different than the M109 ?
Do I visit the mechanic or just get the "servo buddy" installed and forget about it?

Had few bikes since 1995, first time I see this exhaust valve.

Very much appreciated