M109 Rider Forums banner

New Kiwi on a 109

3K views 17 replies 10 participants last post by  biker-chicky 
#1 ·
Hiya guys, just checking in and introing me. im an old fart from way down the bottom of the Sth island. Bluff in Fact. And have just picked up an 07 Red M109r, Ive been riding for over 40 years so have had a huge range of bikes including hayabusa and recently a zx14. I bought the 109 sight unseen and flew to ChCh to ride her home. Saw the bike and she looked immense, and beautiful. amazing to look at.

So bit the bullet paid the money and climbed about the beast and headed for home. Within the first 20 kms, Im thinking what the f*** have I done, this thing handles like a council bus, changes gears like an old tractor, and just felt a total pig. By the time I hit Temuka (150+kms), it was starting to make sense to me, riding that magic carpet of torque. By Oamaru I was really starting to enjoy the ride, the comfort, the great power delivery and getting the feel for the handling. Just after leaving Oamaru I was passed by 2 sportsbikes, an R1 and a zx6 and that of course set up a challenge, so I pushed these bikes, and pushed them hard. The zx6 rider was I guessing a novice as he was erratic and sometimes outright dangerous to try staying ahead of me. The 109 had no problem dealing with him either on the straights or cornering, but the R1 was more fun, he totally outrun me in the corners, but getting back onto the straights and I was right with him. We both overtook a car doing 90kmh, just before Palmerston and he downshifted and booted it so I kicked big red back to third and pinned the bitch. at 230kms on my speedo he backed off, straighted up and looked in the mirror and nearly shat himself, no more than 10 feet behind him was this big red bitch breathing right down his neck.