M109r as a first bike

Thread: M109r as a first bike

Default M109r as a first bike

I expect to receive my motorcycle endorsement next week. That said, l am totally obsessed with the 9. Most of my friends that ride have advised against it. Instead, I've been told to start with something smaller (ex. V Star 1300) and then move up to the 9 in about 2 years. However, I just can't see myself on anything other than the 9. By the way, I am 42 years old. If that makes a difference.

Please advise. Thnx.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements

People have done it, but I agree with your friends. If you are going to do it, RESPECT THE POWER AND SIZE OF THE BIKE.

I started off with a Kawasaki 440 LTD then a Vulcan 750 and then the 9.

Age really has nothing to do with it.
    Bang for the Buck Mods link CLICK HERE
    Coming to a city near you..

I started riding street bikes at your age, and the 9 was my first bike. Respect the power and weight. I have had a few Oh **** moments early but have enjoyed 50k miles and plan on another 50k. Just take your time. I didnt ride mine out of the neighborhood the first 2 weeks.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-G920A using Tapatalk

5. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by M109Dreamer View Post
    I started riding street bikes at your age, and the 9 was my first bike. Respect the power and weight. I have had a few Oh **** moments early but have enjoyed 50k miles and plan on another 50k. Just take your time. I didnt ride mine out of the neighborhood the first 2 weeks.

Thanks for the feedback. I really appreciate it.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Quote Originally Posted by rynosback View Post
    People have done it, but I agree with your friends. If you are going to do it, RESPECT THE POWER AND SIZE OF THE BIKE.

I started off with a Kawasaki 440 LTD then a Vulcan 750 and then the 9.

Age really has nothing to do with it.