Stebel Air Horn Wiring diagrams the easy way. 3 versions
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 30 of 67

Thread: Stebel Air Horn Wiring diagrams the easy way. 3 versions

  1. #1
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Picayune, MS.39466
    Posts
    1,457

    Default Stebel Air Horn Wiring diagrams the easy way. 3 versions

    OK guys after 4 years I finally got around to wiring a Bad Boy Air Horn on my bike. I've installed about 30 now for a few friends and riders by disconnecting the stock horn connector then running wires back up from the connector to trigger a relay I supplied 12 volts to inside the headlight nacelle. I figured there has got to be an easier way so I tried just tapping the horn wire from the horn switch black with blue tracer wire but it rest at ground and would trigger the horn with the key off. Well being this was my bike I took my time looked over the schematic and figured it out. So now you don't have to catch the wires from the horn connector you can catch the trigger wires from the headlight nacelle. Still have to run a power wire from the battery but hey this is easier.



    You can do the following by wiring the way stated.
    Air Horn Only: Cut the black wire with blue tracer. Tape off wire going to Horn. Connect switch side of wire to terminal 86 of relay.This will eliminate the stock horn with out disconnecting the harness from it.

    Air Horn and Stock Horn:In my case I installed in the stock horn location a high output electric car horn. A pain in the A$$ to squeeze it in but I'm happy with it even more now with the added air horn. Just tap black wire with blue tracer.

    Air Horn or Stock Horn via Switch: See Diagram Below

    No Matter what you do this will remain the same
    You can connect the 85 terminal of the relay to the orange with green tracer wire (it's the same wire that goes to the horn)going to the Tachometer.It also feeds the start switch and speedometer. It's inside the headlight nacelle. No need to go all the way to the horn and fish wires back up.

    For your Battery power wire running to the Relay,Air Horn, and Ground please use a minimum 14 AWG wire. Fuse it with a 25 AMP fuse at the battery.

    Diagrams
    Air Horn Only
    https://www.m109riders.com/forums/alb...chmentid=75067

    Air Horn with Stock Horn.Both on at same time.
    https://www.m109riders.com/forums/alb...chmentid=75066
    with switch to turn air horn off or on .
    https://www.m109riders.com/forums/alb...chmentid=75098

    Air Horn with Stock Horn Switched. Either or.
    https://www.m109riders.com/forums/alb...chmentid=75068

    Hope this helps you guys out. Enjoy and Ride Safe!
    Last edited by Robert May; 09-23-2012 at 08:57 PM. Reason: uploaded 4th diagram

  2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Radio Active Member Zoom's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Virginia
    Posts
    22,461

    Default

    I knew there had to be a way to tap into the horn wire without using the connector, and thanks for finding it Robert!






  4. #3
    Very Active Member KINGZM109R's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MD
    Posts
    177

    Default

    Thank you. I will be doing the both on install.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Tapatalk 2
    "Darkness cannot drive out darkness; only light can do that. Hate cannot drive out hate; only love can do that." MARTIN LUTHER KING

  5. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Very Active Member Eminem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    Sunshine Coast, Qld, Australia.
    Posts
    200

    Thumbs up

    ....just noticed a small typo on yr schematic - it's an 'SPST' switch (single pole, double throw) you'll be needing for the 'both' option - btw, rated around 3-5A.
    Hope that helps.

  7. #5
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Picayune, MS.39466
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Eminem View Post
    ....just noticed a small typo on yr schematic - it's an 'SPST' switch (single pole, double throw) you'll be needing for the 'both' option - btw, rated around 3-5A.
    Hope that helps.

    Yea not so much a typo I just omitted the switch period for the both option. However thanks and I will add one more schematic with a SPST Switch that way it will cover everything.

    Thanks again Eminem !!!

  8. #6
    Very Active Member OldMarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Bradley County, TN (outside of Cleveland, TN)
    Posts
    167

    Red face Dumb Questions

    Ok ... Not finding a Stebel, I bought a Euroblast horn that looks identical. Except - it's chromed.
    It's supposed to deliver 140+ decibels. I hope it's a good unit.
    After reading all I could find here - it looks like there are only two good locations for the horn.
    Either the headlight housing, or the right side cover. And both require a wire run under the tank.
    So ... after due consideration - I think it'll be in the headlight housing. I hope it's still loud enough. (a semi almost got me a few days back - pulled over on me. Glad the 109 has a ton of power!)
    Now for my questions;
    Is there a good mounting place inside the housing? Does a bracket need to be fabricated?
    And, most important .... Is there a place in the headlight housing to pick up the needed 12 volt supply (which can be switched), without running a wire back to the battery (which is on all the time)?

    And BTW ... A big THANK YOU to all of you on the M109riders forum!!
    This forum is a big help to me.

  9. #7
    Very Active Member matt.procter's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Feilding, NZ
    Posts
    135

    Default

    Thanks! Will make this weekends install much easier!

    2007 Black M109R
    Velocity Pro exhaust, low n mean chin scoop, low n mean reaper fender, fi2000r, painted speedo housing, custom radiator grill, meancycles engine cover, Stebel Nautilus, Ryan's harness, Greggs side cover...

  10. #8
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    16,205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OldMarine View Post
    Ok ... Not finding a Stebel, I bought a Euroblast horn that looks identical. Except - it's chromed.
    It's supposed to deliver 140+ decibels. I hope it's a good unit.
    After reading all I could find here - it looks like there are only two good locations for the horn.
    Either the headlight housing, or the right side cover. And both require a wire run under the tank.
    So ... after due consideration - I think it'll be in the headlight housing. I hope it's still loud enough. (a semi almost got me a few days back - pulled over on me. Glad the 109 has a ton of power!)
    Now for my questions;
    Is there a good mounting place inside the housing? Does a bracket need to be fabricated?
    And, most important .... Is there a place in the headlight housing to pick up the needed 12 volt supply (which can be switched), without running a wire back to the battery (which is on all the time)?

    And BTW ... A big THANK YOU to all of you on the M109riders forum!!
    This forum is a big help to me.
    The info on the wiring was given in the first post. You can just lay the horn in the upper part of the nacelle and secure it w/ a tie wrap if you're so inclined.


    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  11. #9
    Very Active Member Captnpirate's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Port Saint Lucie, Florida
    Posts
    3,377

    Default

    Thanks to the information in this thread I was able to wire up my horn without any difficulties. Thanks everyone!!
    Go Big or Go Home
    '07 RED -
    Cycle House Big Air intakes, Debadged/Debeavered, PC III, Kuy grips and pegs, 50 watt driving lights, 260 Metz., sport windshield, chrome wheels, Gen III Knight Rider, Drivers Backrest, Dragon Tail Light, Derby and Side Lic Frame, +2 risers, 5" Cannon.

  12. #10
    Very Active Member OldMarine's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Bradley County, TN (outside of Cleveland, TN)
    Posts
    167

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-B View Post
    The info on the wiring was given in the first post. You can just lay the horn in the upper part of the nacelle and secure it w/ a tie wrap if you're so inclined.
    Thanks Big B!

    I see what I think is your horn to the right in the picture.

  13. #11
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    16,205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by OldMarine View Post
    Thanks Big B!

    I see what I think is your horn to the right in the picture.
    Yes, that is correct.


    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  14. #12
    Very Active Member RChow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Robert,
    very nice schematic drawing and easy to follow instructions. But, I just installed my stebel, hooked it up according to the stebel-only schematic, but horn does not work. The relay clicks every time i press the horn button, but nothing out of stebel. I hooked multimeter to stebel and its circuit seems okay. I rechecked all the connections and they seem very tight. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?

  15. #13
    Very Active Member Dr CNC's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Florida
    Posts
    818

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RChow View Post
    Robert,
    very nice schematic drawing and easy to follow instructions. But, I just installed my stebel, hooked it up according to the stebel-only schematic, but horn does not work. The relay clicks every time i press the horn button, but nothing out of stebel. I hooked multimeter to stebel and its circuit seems okay. I rechecked all the connections and they seem very tight. Do you have any ideas or suggestions?

    You try strapping the horn across a 12vdc supply see if it works??
    Last edited by Dr CNC; 12-28-2012 at 05:24 PM.


    "Four Wheels move the Body ~ Two Wheels Move the Soul"

  16. #14
    Very Active Member RChow's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    NW Florida
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 06 M109R FL View Post
    You try strapping the horn across a 12vdc supply see if it works??
    Yep, troubleshot it for about an hour. Turned out to be a bad ground connection. Redid the ground and the horn works great! I love this mod..it is really easy thanks to this thread. Hardest part was getting the bucket back on. Ended up paying about $3 for wire and $6 for connections in addition to the horn. Thanks Robert!!

  17. #15
    Very Active Member ace4aday's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Hillsboro, OR
    Posts
    728

    Default

    As ugly as that nacelle is, it sure does come in handy for you M guys.
    De-badged '08 C109R featuring: GMan Industries Bully, Stealth Intakes, TRE, GBushing, GBat, and Riser Extender; Kuryakyn ISO Grips w/ThrottleBoss and Longhorn Offset Dually Highway Pegs; Cobra Light Bar and Fatty Freeway Bars; Suzuki Passenger Floorboards and Backrest; Ultimate Seats; and Auburn Leather Company Ultimate Legend Saddlebags mounted on Edge Saddlebag Brackets

  18. #16
    Very Active Member Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montreal subburb
    Posts
    1,827

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ace4aday View Post
    As ugly as that nacelle is, it sure does come in handy for you M guys.
    .
    Don't talk bad about our nacelle
    It grows on you with time , I love mine .
    Every Time You Lift Your Tank Beware Of This .

  19. #17
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Picayune, MS.39466
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RChow View Post
    Yep, troubleshot it for about an hour. Turned out to be a bad ground connection. Redid the ground and the horn works great! I love this mod..it is really easy thanks to this thread. Hardest part was getting the bucket back on. Ended up paying about $3 for wire and $6 for connections in addition to the horn. Thanks Robert!!

    Sorry I don't get on here as much as I used to . Glad you got it all figured out. Your welcome!

  20. #18
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    hampton, virginia
    Posts
    23

    Default really nice

    question do you use the same size wire to connect to relay no 86, and 85 as 30, and 87? 14awg on 85,30. wire size on 85,86? Thanks

  21. #19
    Radio Active Member rynosback's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Traveling America
    Posts
    27,322

    Default

    I use 16 gauge on all of the wires in my harness. As I want the weakest link to be the fuse.
    Bang for the Buck Mods link CLICK HERE
    Coming to a city near you..

  22. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Location
    hampton, virginia
    Posts
    23

    Default thanks

    thanks will do.. I'm ready for some noise.

  23. #21
    Very Active Member Quepsiphi18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Albany Ga
    Posts
    229

    Default Help

    Hooked mine up like the diagram to use both horns but when cut bike on horn blows. Rechecked all wiring and get same result. Possible bad relay? Thanks in advance for assistance
    SOUTH GEORGIA 9'ER......AND I'M GONE

  24. #22
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    16,205

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quepsiphi18 View Post
    Hooked mine up like the diagram to use both horns but when cut bike on horn blows. Rechecked all wiring and get same result. Possible bad relay? Thanks in advance for assistance
    yes it could be a bad relay if you're absolutely sure that the wiring is correct


    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  25. #23
    Very Active Member Quepsiphi18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Albany Ga
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-B View Post
    yes it could be a bad relay if you're absolutely sure that the wiring is correct

    Thanks BigB. I'll replace it when I get back to the house Sunday. It's a Wolo version and I assume it is a standard horn relay
    SOUTH GEORGIA 9'ER......AND I'M GONE

  26. #24
    Very Active Member Quepsiphi18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Albany Ga
    Posts
    229

    Default Assistance/ideas

    Switched relay and get same thing horn on when bike switched on. Also before hooking up power I get the relay start to clicking without power to Wolo horn. Scratched a bald spot in my head. Lol.
    SOUTH GEORGIA 9'ER......AND I'M GONE

  27. #25
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Picayune, MS.39466
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quepsiphi18 View Post
    Switched relay and get same thing horn on when bike switched on. Also before hooking up power I get the relay start to clicking without power to Wolo horn. Scratched a bald spot in my head. Lol.

    About to have dinner at the moment but you say cut in your original post. What did you cut for both horns? My diagram does not recommend cutting anything for both.

    Let me know I'll check in later tonight.

    Thanks
    Robert

  28. #26
    Very Active Member Quepsiphi18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Albany Ga
    Posts
    229

    Wink

    Quote Originally Posted by Robert May View Post
    About to have dinner at the moment but you say cut in your original post. What did you cut for both horns? My diagram does not recommend cutting anything for both.

    Let me know I'll check in later tonight.

    Thanks
    Robert

    Robert, "cut" is Deep South Georgia vernacular for "turn/switch".
    SOUTH GEORGIA 9'ER......AND I'M GONE

  29. #27
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Picayune, MS.39466
    Posts
    1,457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quepsiphi18 View Post
    Robert, "cut" is Deep South Georgia vernacular for "turn/switch".
    Gotcha LOL!!! So are you cutting it off or on and getting the horn to blow?

  30. #28
    Very Active Member Quepsiphi18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Albany Ga
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Can't figure this thing out. Verified wiring taps yet again, switch on bike without power to Wolo and still get relay clicking. Then hook power to Wolo and instantly get Wolo horn blowing without pressing horn switch. Next step is to replace Wolo.
    SOUTH GEORGIA 9'ER......AND I'M GONE

  31. #29
    Very Active Member AWESOME109's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    3,034

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Quepsiphi18 View Post
    Can't figure this thing out. Verified wiring taps yet again, switch on bike without power to Wolo and still get relay clicking. Then hook power to Wolo and instantly get Wolo horn blowing without pressing horn switch. Next step is to replace Wolo.

    If your relay is clicking when you switch on the bike then you have wired this thing incorrectly. The horn is not the problem. I would recheck to make sure you are spliced into the correct wires. Almost sounds like you have spliced into the wire before the horn switch.
    Last edited by AWESOME109; 03-05-2013 at 12:27 PM.

  32. #30
    Very Active Member Quepsiphi18's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Albany Ga
    Posts
    229

    Default

    Thanks Awesome109! You hit the nail on the head. Tapped into wrong wire for horn switch.
    SOUTH GEORGIA 9'ER......AND I'M GONE

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •