07 with possible clutch hub nut problems
Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: 07 with possible clutch hub nut problems

  1. #1
    Active Member Bigj1106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sherman, Texas
    Posts
    74

    Default 07 with possible clutch hub nut problems

    A lil history: I was at a light and put the bike in nuetral. Light changed so I placed in first gear to only experience a unexpected surge and bike died. Needless to say I had to trailor bike home. Does anyone in the North Texas area have the special tool to tighten the clutch hub nut or know where I can purchase one? Its a 30mm socket used as a spanner. My clutch will not disengage. Clutch cable is good. Bought a new one and adjusted until I was blue in the face. I was told my hub nut may have backed off. Help........... Im in the Sherman Tx area. Don't wanna mess up anything.
    Last edited by Bigj1106; 08-03-2012 at 06:19 PM.
    BigJ
    Sherman,TX

  2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    16,258

    Default

    There is a Honda Socket / Spanner for the VTX that works.
    Part Number:
    07910-4630100
    Cost: $55.75

    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  4. #3
    Very Active Member Strained's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Bristol, CT
    Posts
    203

    Default Cost

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-B View Post
    There is a Honda Socket / Spanner for the VTX that works.
    Part Number:
    07910-4630100
    Cost: $55.75
    That price is from four years ago and I was lucky and got it wholesale. I don't know what the cost is now.
    Some rides are sweeter than others, but a 9's not bad.

  5. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  6. #4
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    16,258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Strained View Post
    That price is from four years ago and I was lucky and got it wholesale. I don't know what the cost is now.
    http://www.powersportsplus.com/parts...0-4630100.html

    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  7. #5
    Very Active Member AWESOME109's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    San Diego
    Posts
    3,034

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-B View Post
    There is a Honda Socket / Spanner for the VTX that works.
    Part Number:
    07910-4630100
    Cost: $55.75
    A cheaper alternative would be to go to Autozone or Kragen and buy the Performance Tool 4 Pin, 2.25" Outer Spindle nut tool (p/n W1269). Then take a Dremel tool and grind down two of the ears. The remaining two ears may have to be ground down just a bit but the tool will work. Took about 15 minutes to do and cost less than $12. I looked for the Honda tool and it has gone up in price. Waste of money for something that you will probably only use once.

  8. #6
    Active Member Bigj1106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sherman, Texas
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Thanks!!! I will check into it.




    Quote Originally Posted by Big-B View Post
    There is a Honda Socket / Spanner for the VTX that works.
    Part Number:
    07910-4630100
    Cost: $55.75
    BigJ
    Sherman,TX

  9. #7
    Active Member Bigj1106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sherman, Texas
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Thanks dude! Not wanting to break the bank.





    Quote Originally Posted by AWESOME109 View Post
    A cheaper alternative would be to go to Autozone or Kragen and buy the Performance Tool 4 Pin, 2.25" Outer Spindle nut tool (p/n W1269). Then take a Dremel tool and grind down two of the ears. The remaining two ears may have to be ground down just a bit but the tool will work. Took about 15 minutes to do and cost less than $12. I looked for the Honda tool and it has gone up in price. Waste of money for something that you will probably only use once.
    BigJ
    Sherman,TX

  10. #8
    Active Member Bigj1106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sherman, Texas
    Posts
    74

    Default Finally got it done

    Well I finally got to my hub nut. It was totally backed off. I had the hardest time getting the 30mm nut off. Finally had to go borrow a larger air tank and a 3/4 air impact. Spun right off. Once I got to the hub nut I took it off and took it to autozone. Compared the size to the spindle sockets that were hanging up. Cost me 19.99. Had to modify by grinding two of the four tabs off and the other two to down to a perfect fit. Worked like a champ. Blue locktite.... Hopefully it all holds together. Thank everyone for the help. This site is awesome!!!!!!!!!!
    BigJ
    Sherman,TX

  11. #9
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    16,258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigj1106 View Post
    Well I finally got to my hub nut. It was totally backed off. I had the hardest time getting the 30mm nut off. Finally had to go borrow a larger air tank and a 3/4 air impact. Spun right off. Once I got to the hub nut I took it off and took it to autozone. Compared the size to the spindle sockets that were hanging up. Cost me 19.99. Had to modify by grinding two of the four tabs off and the other two to down to a perfect fit. Worked like a champ. Blue locktite.... Hopefully it all holds together. Thank everyone for the help. This site is awesome!!!!!!!!!!
    Nice, how did your clutch plates look? Did you replace them since you were in there?

    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  12. #10
    Active Member Bigj1106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sherman, Texas
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Big-B View Post
    Nice, how did your clutch plates look? Did you replace them since you were in there?
    I looked at them and they looked good. Less than 10k on my bike and it wasnt having any issues until that day it crapped out on me at a stop light. Going to finish putting my clutch plates back in tonight and button it up, fill the oil and check for leaks before I put my exhaust on. Hoping everything goes smooth. Gotta fine tune my clutch cable since I replaced it at first and made some adjustments both ways. Wish me luck. I have never worked on a motorcycle in my life, but I am a repair and maintenance tech for a semi conductor company for the last 15yrs and 8yrs of working on M1A1 Tanks before that. Good so far..................
    BigJ
    Sherman,TX

  13. #11
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    16,258

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigj1106 View Post
    I looked at them and they looked good. Less than 10k on my bike and it wasnt having any issues until that day it crapped out on me at a stop light. Going to finish putting my clutch plates back in tonight and button it up, fill the oil and check for leaks before I put my exhaust on. Hoping everything goes smooth. Gotta fine tune my clutch cable since I replaced it at first and made some adjustments both ways. Wish me luck. I have never worked on a motorcycle in my life, but I am a repair and maintenance tech for a semi conductor company for the last 15yrs and 8yrs of working on M1A1 Tanks before that. Good so far..................
    Sounds like you have a good handle on it. Good luck.

    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  14. #12
    Very Active Member Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montreal subburb
    Posts
    1,842

    Default

    Bigj1106 , did you use this tutorial to do the job ??.
    .
    http://pagreaves.com/109/clutch/clutch.htm
    Every Time You Lift Your Tank Beware Of This .

  15. #13
    Active Member Bigj1106's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sherman, Texas
    Posts
    74

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    Bigj1106 , did you use this tutorial to do the job ??.
    .
    http://pagreaves.com/109/clutch/clutch.htm

    By the way, I sure did. It was very helpful. Nice to be able to see the pics.
    BigJ
    Sherman,TX

  16. #14
    Active Member CU_There's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ft Worth
    Posts
    83

    Default

    BigJ, this site IS awesome!!

    Kazi, what is that picture (every time you lift your tank) showing? Is the wire pulled out?
    Last edited by CU_There; 08-10-2012 at 12:44 PM.
    FOR THOSE WHO HAVE FOUGHT FOR IT - FREEDOM HAS A PRICE THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW

  17. #15
    Very Active Member Latinrascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,515

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by CU_There View Post
    BigJ, this site IS awesome!!.

    Kazi, what is that picture (every time you lift your tank) showing? Is the wire pulled out?
    That picture is a warning and reminder to the problem found by a few members on this forum that happens as a direct result of removing the gas tank to do any service work. What is happening is the wire that he has circled is pulled out of the stock harness connection which means even though this connector is properly seated you may still have electrical problems, I believe in kazi's case the fuel pump stopped working.

  18. #16
    Very Active Member Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montreal subburb
    Posts
    1,842

    Default

    Latinrascal , is my case it was a different " Gremlin ",
    = first the wire got pulled out just a little like in picture
    = then bike ran fine , nothing wrong
    = then 200 miles away from home ,I hit a small bump
    while pulling over to the side of the road and bike stalled
    didn't mind , I was going to shut it off anyway .
    = but when it was time to leave ,
    = bike goes thru all regular motions
    =Speedo needle goes up and down
    = you can hear the fuel pump pumping to desired pressure
    =the engine cranks as usual , but it never fires , NEVER .
    = when rolling the bike OFF the tow truck ,the weight of the tank
    took it back just enough for the wires to make contact again
    and bike fired right up . $350.00 mod money wasted on a tow.
    ;
    there a different color wires in the brown connector
    that can give you different problems I guess ,
    mine was no more spark to the plugs , (yellow wire with red line on it )
    without this site to help me , on the side of a busy highway ,
    I didn't find the problem , but if any one else can fix it
    just because they know where to look it is worth to put it as
    my signature picture ,
    so beware , lifting tank and stretching the wires to the brown connector ,
    Every Time You Lift Your Tank Beware Of This .

  19. #17
    Active Member CU_There's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Ft Worth
    Posts
    83

    Default Thanks

    Thanks, I hadn't heard of this.
    FOR THOSE WHO HAVE FOUGHT FOR IT - FREEDOM HAS A PRICE THE PROTECTED WILL NEVER KNOW

  20. #18
    Very Active Member Latinrascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,515

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    Latinrascal , is my case it was a different " Gremlin ",
    = first the wire got pulled out just a little like in picture
    = then bike ran fine , nothing wrong
    = then 200 miles away from home ,I hit a small bump
    while pulling over to the side of the road and bike stalled
    didn't mind , I was going to shut it off anyway .
    = but when it was time to leave ,
    = bike goes thru all regular motions
    =Speedo needle goes up and down
    = you can hear the fuel pump pumping to desired pressure
    =the engine cranks as usual , but it never fires , NEVER .
    = when rolling the bike OFF the tow truck ,the weight of the tank
    took it back just enough for the wires to make contact again
    and bike fired right up . $350.00 mod money wasted on a tow.
    ;
    there a different color wires in the brown connector
    that can give you different problems I guess ,
    mine was no more spark to the plugs , (yellow wire with red line on it )
    without this site to help me , on the side of a busy highway ,
    I didn't find the problem , but if any one else can fix it
    just because they know where to look it is worth to put it as
    my signature picture ,
    so beware , lifting tank and stretching the wires to the brown connector ,
    thanks for the info Kazi, and sorry for trying to answer for you, just kinda board out of my mind lately and thought I would jump in to try and help to give me something to do.

  21. #19
    Very Active Member Kazimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Montreal subburb
    Posts
    1,842

    Default

    great answer for one of the other color wires that can
    be pulled out of the brown connector.
    I wonder which one turns off the fuel pump
    as you described ??
    Every Time You Lift Your Tank Beware Of This .

  22. #20
    Very Active Member Latinrascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    4,515

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kazimodo View Post
    great answer for one of the other color wires that can
    be pulled out of the brown connector.
    I wonder which one turns off the fuel pump
    as you described ??
    To be honest I'm not sure which one does, I thought that's what the problem you had but I stand corrected although I'm sure if that one came out there is always the possibility of a different one doing the same causing electrical gremlins.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
-->