BREAKWAY CRUISE CONTROL WIHTH SHOW CHROME GRIPS HELP WITH INSTALL
Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: BREAKWAY CRUISE CONTROL WIHTH SHOW CHROME GRIPS HELP WITH INSTALL

  1. #1
    Very Active Member amvince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    566

    Default BREAKWAY CRUISE CONTROL WIHTH SHOW CHROME GRIPS HELP WITH INSTALL PICTURES ADDED

    Is there? anybody that has this setup. I watched the Cruiser Customizing video and it didn't help. My issue Is the installing the bottom part that attached to the brake. It is too short and I can't reach the brake lever screw. Just checking to see if anybody has run into this issue. I think I maybe able to solve it by adding a spacer to it but if you have any tips please let me know.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	001.jpg 
Views:	62 
Size:	32.9 KB 
ID:	63313   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	003.jpg 
Views:	56 
Size:	34.8 KB 
ID:	63314   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	004.jpg 
Views:	51 
Size:	32.9 KB 
ID:	63315  
    Last edited by amvince; 03-26-2012 at 07:48 AM.
    I just plan on doing everything twice when I start it and that way when it takes 3 times to get it right I'm only half as mad.

  2. Remove Advertisements
    M109Riders.com
    Advertisements
     

  3. #2
    Very Active Member Latinrascal's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Posts
    3,053

    Default

    There should be a spacer included in the package, if there isn't one you can try and fab something or contact the place you bought it and have them send you one out.

  4. #3
    Very Active Member amvince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Latinrascal View Post
    There should be a spacer included in the package, if there isn't one you can try and fab something or contact the place you bought it and have them send you one out.
    I ahve the spcer but it is still coming up short. Looks like I may be fabricating.
    I just plan on doing everything twice when I start it and that way when it takes 3 times to get it right I'm only half as mad.

  5. #4
    Very Active Member Big-B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    MoCo Maryland
    Posts
    15,873

    Default

    if you are using stock levers the type of grips should not make a difference . sounds to me like something's not adjusted properly . can you post a pic of the issue .

    Sent from my ultra cool Lightningbolt using Slapatalk
    Tag the World

    IT'S NOT ABOUT HOW FAST YOU GET THERE, IT'S ABOUT THE RIDE ITSELF. TAKE YOUR TIME AND ENJOY IT!!

  6. #5
    Very Active Member amvince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    566

    Default

    I can get it much closer to the screw but I figured it would be easier to see this way. According to this video it should install this way.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VkirNlWpTHw
    I just plan on doing everything twice when I start it and that way when it takes 3 times to get it right I'm only half as mad.

  7. #6
    Very Active Member prwelder64's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Location
    oglesby texas
    Posts
    467

    Default

    I had the same issue when I was installing mine. I had knife levers and I has to use a longer screw and Some washers to get the breakaway to reach the lever. If you are using the stock levers you should not have a problem.
    Luis
    arnott air ride, superman covers w/k&n filters, pc III, rainey 5" cannon,280 rear and 160 front with extreme wrenched wheels.

  8. #7
    Very Active Member amvince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by prwelder64 View Post
    I had the same issue when I was installing mine. I had knife levers and I has to use a longer screw and Some washers to get the breakaway to reach the lever. If you are using the stock levers you should not have a problem.
    Luis

    It isn't the switch I am coming up about 1/2 inch short on reaching the screw. I think it is the type of grips I have. They don't allow the breakaway to move far enough down the grip.
    I just plan on doing everything twice when I start it and that way when it takes 3 times to get it right I'm only half as mad.

  9. #8
    Very Active Member cosmo440's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Omaha,Ne.
    Posts
    180

    Default

    I used some washers and the spacer to get it set up.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	world of wheels 2012 049.jpg 
Views:	33 
Size:	36.3 KB 
ID:	63353  

  10. #9
    Very Active Member amvince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    566

    Default

    I made a spacer tonight and now just need to get it dialed in. I tried washers but mine was so far away I needed too many. I hope to be able to finish by tomorrow since the neighbors probably don't want too hear me messing around at 10:p.m. to get it working. Thanks for all the suggestions.
    I just plan on doing everything twice when I start it and that way when it takes 3 times to get it right I'm only half as mad.

  11. #10
    Very Active Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    194

    Default

    I have a Breakaway on a stock handle.
    In your first picture I see there is a large gap between the Breakaway body and the switch body.
    Is that the permanent position, or have you moved the Breakaway closer?
    Mine is very close (about 1/8") and the Breakaway arm reaches the brake lever pivot point easily.

    My next ride....

  12. #11
    Very Active Member amvince's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Frisco, TX
    Posts
    566

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DRIVEN View Post
    I have a Breakaway on a stock handle.
    In your first picture I see there is a large gap between the Breakaway body and the switch body.
    Is that the permanent position, or have you moved the Breakaway closer?
    Mine is very close (about 1/8") and the Breakaway arm reaches the brake lever pivot point easily.
    It is because of the grips. The grips have a large chrome part right before the switch housing. I hope my spacer works. I will find out tonight.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Grips.jpg 
Views:	21 
Size:	44.4 KB 
ID:	63370  
    I just plan on doing everything twice when I start it and that way when it takes 3 times to get it right I'm only half as mad.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •