coolant boiling in the engine and draining out the overflow tank. mechanic is stumped
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: coolant boiling in the engine and draining out the overflow tank. mechanic is stumped

Default coolant boiling in the engine and draining out the overflow tank. mechanic is stumped

im a motorcycle mechanic. i work alone so i have no techs next to me for advice. i have this 2008 M109R that keeps boiling the coolant out of the reserve tank. it fills up and comes out of the overflow tube. ive verified the fan temp switch is ok. the fan turns on at the designated temp. i removed the thermostat and put the housing back together and ran it with no thermostat at all. same problem. i ran some cooling system flush through the system for at least 6 hours of running time. then i cleaned it all out of the system. problem stayed the same. i removed the radiator and ran a water hose to it to verify that it had no blockages. it was ok. finns were all clean. i removed the waterpump to verify that it was ok. all parts of the pump looked fine. i put it all back together and the problem is still the same. each time, i bleed the air out of the cooling system according to the factory service manual. at this point i think i verified all components in the cooling system and they all checked out ok. maybe im not getting all the air out of the system and thats causing a vapor lock in the heads or something. i can literally hear the coolant boiling in the engine. heres what i do to bleed all the air out. i fill it with coolant, i rock the bike left to right over and over and keep adding coolant as i get air bubbles out. when i stop seeing bubbles, i leave the radiator cap off and run the engine to get more air out. instead of seeing bubbles come out, coolant just comes out of the radiator. so i think all the air is out. also i put a new radiator cap on to rule that part out. please give me any ideas to help me resolve this issue. thank you

2. Remove Advertisements